Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Clean and pleasant hotel with great staff

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: See above - mainly staff and food.
Cons: Double room very small, more suited to single. Decoration of stairway and swimming pool area is tired. Bar looks nice, but seats are uncomfortable.
Location: Near Gunwharf Quays and Historic Dockyard.
My husband and I stayed for one night during a quick visit to Portsmouth. Hotel staff were very helpful and courteous throughout. We found our room rather small with a tiny bathroom which only really had space for one set of towels (we found the second set in the wardrobe) and only one comfortable chair + 1 office chair. Great to have a pool and jaccuzzi on site although this area was in need of redecoration along with one or two other areas of the hotel. Food: Nice to have access to an all day restaurant and breakfast was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Great location and facilities

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location, pool, breakfast, bar area, free parking. [
Cons: Reception check in and bar staff speed of service
All round good experience in a nicely located hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Convenient location

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Spacious, clean rooms. The staff were very helpful and pleasant.
Cons: Food could be better
Location: We visited the Historic Dockyard which was a pleasant 15 minute walk away.
The room was perfectly adequate but even with the window open it was too hot. We ate in the restaurant and the food was really not good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room already occupied

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Near to the sea front for a stroll
Cons: Room allocation??? Cheaper meals especially breakfast at £14.95 pp
Given key but someone already in that room??? Breakfast very expensive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Wedding venue for a friend

Posted May 1, 2017
Nice stay but thought the room and shower room extremely small. Even heard another guest, complaining at reception, about the price and size of room. Wouldn't want to stay more than two nights. Our morning news paper was stolen from outside room. I know drinks in hotels are usually expensive but the prices were a little extreme. A small bottle of water was £3.50 so bring your own. Breakfast was delicious!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Nice room and good leisure facilities. It's a great location. Did seem a bit understaffed at times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southend Essex

A nice clean central hotel with brilliant staff

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The staff were professional, friendly, warm, helpful & charming.
Cons: nothing to improve
Location: Close to train stations (portsmouth & southsea or portsmouth harbour) and also close to Gunwharf Quays....approx 15min walk
I stayed at this hotel for two nights & all the staff (reception, bar, breakfast room) were professional, friendly, warm, helpful & charming, this does not happen by accident so well done everyone you have nailed customer service !! The hotel & my room was very clean & the decoration was up to date & in good condition, the breakfast on both days was good value and tasted great (there was lots of choice too) and it's cheaper if you get a breakfast voucher from reception the day before, all in all a very nice stay & I would stay there again without question !!!
5 out of 5
by Ilena

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Folkestone

Reasonable Hotel within short taxi ride of Port

Posted Apr 12, 2017
We were returning from the continent via Brittany Ferries, needed a hotel overnight. Easy to reach from the ferry terminal. Some of the staff were very friendly, some not so. We waited a very long time to be served at the bar and paid an extortionate price for a glass of wine. Despite the redecoration parts of the hotel were tired, the rooms were fine and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and plenty of staff.
3 out of 5
by WILIIAM

Portsmouth weekend

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel location was excellent and room was fine. Not happy to find pool and gym were closed on the day we arrived as I booked this hotel for these facilities rather than others without them. Receptionist was not very helpful.