Ratings based on 961 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Nice hotel convenient for city centre

Posted May 22, 2017
First impressions very good. Reception area welcoming and reception staff very helpful and pleasant. Room was clean and well fitted and laid out with everything you could want. Only real criticism was in the bathroom the thick glass shelf mounted over the sink which was completely in the way when trying to wash and use the sink. The placement of this needs to be thought about more clearly. Had breakfast in the hotel, which I have to say was only OK. Hot buffet was more luke warm than hot. I must complement the hotel on the provision of a gluten free area though with bread and a separate toaster for the use of guests. Not many hotels think of things like this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba

Great location.

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Great elevators ! Cold water cooler in lobby appreciated.
Well located. Easy walking to town centre and train station. Lovely park right outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southampton

Close to city centre

Posted May 2, 2017
Great stay and any problems were resolved very promptly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice hotel in the heart of town.

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: comfortable, located in a great area of town
Location: Located 4 or 5 blocks from good shopping and dining.
4 night stay. very comfortable room, quiet and located in a walking friendly area. Nice park across the street, walking distance, about 6 blocks, to the central train station. Friendly helpful staff. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Very good and pleasent stay will definitely return as hotel is ideally situated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

nice hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: Provide parking!
Location: Location was fine
would not stay again due to the lack of parking! add the cost of parking and it made my stay very expensive!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

over night stay for a cruise

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: staff are all very friendly and the food is very good
nice and central for the town centre and short distance to the port
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

City hotel with no parking

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Price after Topcashback came to £62 for a double room.
Cons: Door sound proofing - stop from slamming. Better conditioned bath tubs and wash basin - water marks all over the white.
Already knew that the hotel has no car parking for it's customers. However, they do recommend parking in nearby Pay and Display car parks for £11 over night. I ended up parking on the streets for free, as I checked in late on Saturday (some street parking is free after 6pm on the Saturday until 13:00 on the Sunday. First room we checked in was a Double room with a double sofa. The room was spacious. However, we asked to change the room as we could hear a neighbouring room with a very loud crying baby and also the adjacent room had loud music blurting out. (We believe the walls are very thin in the hotel). A quick call to reception and we were offered a different room on the 2nd floor. This room was a lot smaller but still had 2 double beds in it. We settled in for our night of stay and quickly realised that this was just as bad in terms of the noise level. Firstly, we are next to the fire exit door for the stairs - being on the 2nd floor, I believe many of the those staying on this floor, chose to take these stairs rather than taking the lifts. Every time the door closed, a loud bang would occur. This happened throughout the night. In general the hotel seems to have wafer thin walls - doors from neighbouring guests would slam - creating a loud slam and also would shake our walls at times. Our sink and bathtub had a lot of stains on them and the shower curtain had rips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Parking

Posted Apr 8, 2017
As there is no parking, you have to drop off your bags, checkin, drive to a multi-storey then walk back to the hotel. You need to add on the price of parking on top of the stay. Luckily the sun was shinning when we stayed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for Southampton

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: The bar was quite nice. Breakfast was a good selection.
Location: There is a park nearby and you can then just head down the main street. Handy for the 02 Guildhall.
There is a negative though. Why was this built on a roundabout? There is no parking right here and to get to it is a bit tricky over a few pedestrian crossings. Strange location with the road layout nearby. Apart from that it was a pleasant hotel.