Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Lovely sumptuous hotel room.

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: The lovely rooms and grounds
Cons: Maybe someone could open the large heavy front door to greet their guests when we arrive and depart, especially with a suitcase in tow !
Location: Taxi into the City approx £20.00 return. Cathedral is worth a visit and so is Stockbridge a small market town approx 20 mins from hotel.
The Hotel and grounds are stunning. We stayed for our 5th wedding anniversary, slightly disappointed that when I phoned to confirm my reservation a couple days before I mentioned the special occasion, however this was obviously forgotten when we arrived and during our stay as no mention or special treat was forthcoming. We didn't eat in the A la Carte due to the menu not to our liking and therefore had a taxi into the City which was only a few miles away where we found a good selection of restaurants. It was a very peaceful stay and will definitely return for afternoon tea one day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Experience

Posted Jan 30, 2016
A bag was stolen out of my room. It took me three days after reporting it to get management to call me back. Extremely disappointed. They did nothing to help.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too many stars

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
Very far from 5 stars service At least 1 star fell from the sky
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A favorite stay always!

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Exquisite surroundings, plush comfort, and extremely attentive staff make Lainston a real treat for us. We have stayed here every year for the past several years. Thank you Expedia for introducing us to the hotel and akwsy a offering an affordable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Arturo from Ciudad de México

Excelente hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
El lugar es muy bonito, excelente atención, la comida buenísima. Es un lugar para relajarse y pasarla bien antes de un crucero
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

English Country Splendour

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
We had a luxurious overnight stay for a Wedding and felt thoroughly spoilt. Extremely pleased that we made the decision to stay. Room was magnificent with a huge bathroom and sumptuous bed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
fantastisk
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

England i ett nötskal

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastiskt ställe, restaurangen var dock inte riktigt lika bra
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herts

Poor value

Posted May 26, 2015
Location: The Plough pub nearby serves excellent meals at very reasonable prices in a good atmosphere.
We arrived late after terrible journey . Our first impression of the room "Heather" was disappointment due to the very gloomy decor ( carpet , walls and furniture were all very dark red) . There was no natural light in the room as it was an the ground floor surrounded by vegetation so we were oblidged to have lights on all day . The bathroom although well appointed had a shiny marble floor which proved dangerous when wet. We were unsure if breakfast was included in the cost and the girl on reception wasn't sure either so we went without on both mornings. I think at nearly £600 for two nights there should be no question. We were provided with two sachets of coffee per day which seems less than generous !