Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Experience

Posted Jan 30, 2016
A bag was stolen out of my room. It took me three days after reporting it to get management to call me back. Extremely disappointed. They did nothing to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A favorite stay always!

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Exquisite surroundings, plush comfort, and extremely attentive staff make Lainston a real treat for us. We have stayed here every year for the past several years. Thank you Expedia for introducing us to the hotel and akwsy a offering an affordable stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Arturo from Ciudad de México

Excelente hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
El lugar es muy bonito, excelente atención, la comida buenísima. Es un lugar para relajarse y pasarla bien antes de un crucero
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

English Country Splendour

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
We had a luxurious overnight stay for a Wedding and felt thoroughly spoilt. Extremely pleased that we made the decision to stay. Room was magnificent with a huge bathroom and sumptuous bed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
fantastisk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

England i ett nötskal

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastiskt ställe, restaurangen var dock inte riktigt lika bra
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herts

Poor value

Posted May 26, 2015
Location: The Plough pub nearby serves excellent meals at very reasonable prices in a good atmosphere.
We arrived late after terrible journey . Our first impression of the room "Heather" was disappointment due to the very gloomy decor ( carpet , walls and furniture were all very dark red) . There was no natural light in the room as it was an the ground floor surrounded by vegetation so we were oblidged to have lights on all day . The bathroom although well appointed had a shiny marble floor which proved dangerous when wet. We were unsure if breakfast was included in the cost and the girl on reception wasn't sure either so we went without on both mornings. I think at nearly £600 for two nights there should be no question. We were provided with two sachets of coffee per day which seems less than generous !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful Hotel - Staff Needs Work

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Beautiful hotel, gorgeous grounds and spacious rooms.
Cons: Staff and Service!
Location: Far out of town, so be prepared for an expensive taxi ride to get to any of the town sites.
This is a beautiful old English Country House that has been made into a hotel. We stayed in the Olive suite and it was beautiful and spacious with great amenities. The settings on the grounds were beautiful and well kept. However the staff (other than housekeeping) needs work. We arrived at 2pm which was an hour ahead of check-in time so we did not expect our room to be ready. The said not to worry to wait in the lounge and they were sure it would be ready before 3. By 3:30, no one had come to get us and I went back to the desk and they said it had been ready. No apologies offer of a drink or anything. In the meantime we had gone into the bar and the bar manager walked past us six times with no greeting or offer to serve us. It was obvious given that we were not part of one of their groups staying there, we weren't that interesting. Room service had a card to fill out for breakfast that had no pricing on it. We thought our breakfast was included and when we checked out were presented with a bill for 45 pounds for a small in room breakfast. Finally, if you use the telephone to call any of the staff be prepared for a long period of ringing before they answer, if they answer at all. We were transferred to room service three times and no one ever picked up. Beautiful house - gorgeous location - staff needs work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels