Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

A classic country house hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Its style and grandeur.
Cons: Drinks prices are off the scale and could be greatly improved, it's one thing asking for £12 for a gin but to add £3 for the tonic is a bit steep.
Location: Winchester is a great place to spend a weekend lots to visit and do.
A warm friendly country house hotel with lots of wood panelling and open fires and very helpful staff. In all a pleasant break.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bygone era

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Lainston House is simply magical! Very elegant, but not too stuffy. From the beautiful grounds to the historic old English Manor. Its like being at Downton Abby. The food, and drinks are good, but pricey. Still it's the type of establishment that can demand high prices. The room vas fabulous and extremely comfortable beds. On top of all of that, fantastic staff. I can't wait to return!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

FABULOUS!

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Perfection.Fabulous hotel and excellent customer service. Sheer indulgence. I wish other hotels would aspire to the same high standards. Decent sized rooms notwithstanding the fact that we had single occupancy. I will look forward to staying again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Beautiful hotel, quiet location lovely grounds great room and bathroom but mainly fab staff including Laura and Angel everyone went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west sussex

Great country house

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: The staff who all when the extra mile
Cons: Little more attention to cleaning, found a slipper under my bed !!
Location: Not far from Winchester where there is plenty to do, easy access from motor way
Quiet peaceful country house in the Hampshire country side, staff extremely accommodating get. There are plenty of walks, an active falconnary with owls. Rooms wel thought out and full of luxury.
5 out of 5
by Kenneth from Tunbridge Wells

Best hotel in Winchester

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Wedding anniversary. Stay was very good. Excellent quiet room and also The Avenue restaurant was first class.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Henry from Cambridge

Fabulous boutique hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
We had an amazing time at this beautiful rural hotel. Stunning views and a very comfortable room. Food and drinks were high quality with discrete attentive service. Restaurant even had fresh gluten free bread available. Fine dining with a great wine list. Highly recommended and we will be return for another stay!
5 out of 5
by Sara from Guildford

Relaxed quiet luxury & accommodating staff

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very exclusive, intimate and relaxed.
5 out of 5
by Carol from Houston

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful service Outstanding accomofations