Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Beautiful hotel, quiet location lovely grounds great room and bathroom but mainly fab staff including Laura and Angel everyone went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west sussex

Great country house

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: The staff who all when the extra mile
Cons: Little more attention to cleaning, found a slipper under my bed !!
Location: Not far from Winchester where there is plenty to do, easy access from motor way
Quiet peaceful country house in the Hampshire country side, staff extremely accommodating get. There are plenty of walks, an active falconnary with owls. Rooms wel thought out and full of luxury.
5 out of 5
by Henry from Cambridge

Fabulous boutique hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
We had an amazing time at this beautiful rural hotel. Stunning views and a very comfortable room. Food and drinks were high quality with discrete attentive service. Restaurant even had fresh gluten free bread available. Fine dining with a great wine list. Highly recommended and we will be return for another stay!
5 out of 5
by Sara from Guildford

Relaxed quiet luxury & accommodating staff

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very exclusive, intimate and relaxed.
5 out of 5
by Carol from Houston

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful service Outstanding accomofations
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Lovel hotel. Very expensive food and drink.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Lovely sumptuous hotel room.

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: The lovely rooms and grounds
Cons: Maybe someone could open the large heavy front door to greet their guests when we arrive and depart, especially with a suitcase in tow !
Location: Taxi into the City approx £20.00 return. Cathedral is worth a visit and so is Stockbridge a small market town approx 20 mins from hotel.
The Hotel and grounds are stunning. We stayed for our 5th wedding anniversary, slightly disappointed that when I phoned to confirm my reservation a couple days before I mentioned the special occasion, however this was obviously forgotten when we arrived and during our stay as no mention or special treat was forthcoming. We didn't eat in the A la Carte due to the menu not to our liking and therefore had a taxi into the City which was only a few miles away where we found a good selection of restaurants. It was a very peaceful stay and will definitely return for afternoon tea one day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Experience

Posted Jan 30, 2016
A bag was stolen out of my room. It took me three days after reporting it to get management to call me back. Extremely disappointed. They did nothing to help.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too many stars

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
Very far from 5 stars service At least 1 star fell from the sky
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A favorite stay always!

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Exquisite surroundings, plush comfort, and extremely attentive staff make Lainston a real treat for us. We have stayed here every year for the past several years. Thank you Expedia for introducing us to the hotel and akwsy a offering an affordable stay.