Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Ives,Cambridgeshire

Posted Apr 14, 2017
A very disappointing visit for an expensive hotel. In future if there are any planned parties etc in the Winchester area we will not return to this hotel. One accessible plug point sited in the toilet. We stay in much better appointed hotels for the same or lesser price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Elegant

Posted Mar 6, 2017
A beautiful and elegant country house with magnificent grounds. We stayed for a night and it was truly a treat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
A lovely country in, that had elegance, comfort, and attentive staff to enhance the experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Perfect weekend destination

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything! The staff do elevate the experience from something that is already good, to something that is special
Cons: The breakfast - cooked breakfast was lukewarm and the continental selection was limited
Location: Easy reach for a number of great places to explore - Stonehenge, Salisbury Cathedral, Winchester, Stockbridge
Hotel was everything I expected from a country house hotel. I cannot praise the staff highly enough - professional, courteous and go out of their way to make your stay special. The location is perfect - easy to get to interesting places but with the relaxing country setting. Dinner on the Saturday night was amazing - well worth the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

A classic country house hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Its style and grandeur.
Cons: Drinks prices are off the scale and could be greatly improved, it's one thing asking for £12 for a gin but to add £3 for the tonic is a bit steep.
Location: Winchester is a great place to spend a weekend lots to visit and do.
A warm friendly country house hotel with lots of wood panelling and open fires and very helpful staff. In all a pleasant break.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Ebookers
The hotel really is beautiful and offers a high level of comfort and service. Rooms are a good size and bathrooms are luxurious. The shower was massive and the spa bath was great. Only drawback was the noisy corridor outside the room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bygone era

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Lainston House is simply magical! Very elegant, but not too stuffy. From the beautiful grounds to the historic old English Manor. Its like being at Downton Abby. The food, and drinks are good, but pricey. Still it's the type of establishment that can demand high prices. The room vas fabulous and extremely comfortable beds. On top of all of that, fantastic staff. I can't wait to return!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

FABULOUS!

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Perfection.Fabulous hotel and excellent customer service. Sheer indulgence. I wish other hotels would aspire to the same high standards. Decent sized rooms notwithstanding the fact that we had single occupancy. I will look forward to staying again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Beautiful hotel, quiet location lovely grounds great room and bathroom but mainly fab staff including Laura and Angel everyone went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable