Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Lovel hotel. Very expensive food and drink.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Lovely sumptuous hotel room.

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: The lovely rooms and grounds
Cons: Maybe someone could open the large heavy front door to greet their guests when we arrive and depart, especially with a suitcase in tow !
Location: Taxi into the City approx £20.00 return. Cathedral is worth a visit and so is Stockbridge a small market town approx 20 mins from hotel.
The Hotel and grounds are stunning. We stayed for our 5th wedding anniversary, slightly disappointed that when I phoned to confirm my reservation a couple days before I mentioned the special occasion, however this was obviously forgotten when we arrived and during our stay as no mention or special treat was forthcoming. We didn't eat in the A la Carte due to the menu not to our liking and therefore had a taxi into the City which was only a few miles away where we found a good selection of restaurants. It was a very peaceful stay and will definitely return for afternoon tea one day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Experience

Posted Jan 30, 2016
A bag was stolen out of my room. It took me three days after reporting it to get management to call me back. Extremely disappointed. They did nothing to help.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too many stars

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
Very far from 5 stars service At least 1 star fell from the sky
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A favorite stay always!

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Exquisite surroundings, plush comfort, and extremely attentive staff make Lainston a real treat for us. We have stayed here every year for the past several years. Thank you Expedia for introducing us to the hotel and akwsy a offering an affordable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Arturo from Ciudad de México

Excelente hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
El lugar es muy bonito, excelente atención, la comida buenísima. Es un lugar para relajarse y pasarla bien antes de un crucero
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

English Country Splendour

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
We had a luxurious overnight stay for a Wedding and felt thoroughly spoilt. Extremely pleased that we made the decision to stay. Room was magnificent with a huge bathroom and sumptuous bed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
fantastisk
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

England i ett nötskal

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastiskt ställe, restaurangen var dock inte riktigt lika bra