Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for our trip to the Zoo

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating, we were allocated a refurbished family room as requested. The room was perfect, bed lovely and comfortable. We had a great choice of children's channels on the TV which came in handy after our busy day. The pool was small but perfectly fine for our 1 night trip away. The children were well catered for, the mezzanine level was kitted out with bean bags and suitable entertainment, i.e. Film and game consoles. The food menu was good value for money, breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Tired hotel which needs a revamp. Priced high, but facilities do not match the price paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Well run

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Pleasnat staff, clean and quiet. Nice to have a swimming pool. Was able to do a few lengths.
I used this as a place to stay for the night for a Southampton university friend's 50th in Twyford. The hotel kindly provided a list of taxi numbers x 10 but none seemed to want to come out that far which was a bit strange as it was a friday
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Reigate, Surrey

Nice hotel near the zoo

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, interesting building.
Cons: The bed / decor was a little shabby, and the shower was awful. No water pressure at all.
Location: The zoo is next door, which is great and Bishop's Waltham is a great little town to visit.
Staff were very helpful and accommodating - especially with a little one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from christchurch dorset

Lovely hotel helpful friendly staff

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Great location by zoo lovely unique hotel design very friendly happy welcome at reception nothing to much bother thoroughly recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Lovely setting

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Loved the setting, the staff were good but very busy with the two functions and the breakfast was good. A summer stay would be really lovely.
Cons: The bed was a bit too firm for our liking and the walkways could have been heated a bit,
Location: Next to Marwell Zoo and a short distance from Winchester (which was the reason for our visit).
Hotel on one level in beautiful setting next to Marwell Zoo. A series of 'pods' containing bedrooms joined by glass-sided walkways. The main part of the hotel and the bedroom areas were warm and cosy on what was a cold weekend, but the walkways were freezing cold - no heating whatsoever. There were two functions while we were there - which we had been told about a couple of days before our visit - so no dining room for the evening meal but bar food was available. Bedroom had doorway directly to outside area - which was unexpected but a lovely idea.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dated rooms, not value for money.

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Room was small and very dated. Expensive for a poor quality room. Lovely area but very disappointed with our stay especially as it was a birthday treat!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at Marwell Hotel and would return again as close proximity to relatives.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Travelling with baby.

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
We travelled with a five month old baby and the couldn't have been more accommodating. The room was very spacious, we ate in the restaurant which included a babies menu, the pool was perfect for an early morning swim. The only criticism we had was our bathroom was incredibly dated and tired compared to the modern room - in definite need of an update! The service received from all staff was brilliant, including little touches like remembering names. We would definitely stay here again with children.