Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the zoo. staff excellent.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Staff, cleanliness
Cons: Poolside water, carpets fixed down. Think about how to have a bar area.
Location: Good location for what we needed
Room comfortable and clean. Unfortunately only one lounge area near bar and children from wedding reception took over. Children running along corridors from 4 in the morning no supervision. Dangerously slippery around the pool where floor very wet. Carpets in dining room not fixed down so dangerous. Staff brilliant. It's a shame about the other stuff. When having a function the space is big enough for all to remain in that area and let the other guests enjoy the bar lounge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

An over night stay as travelling through.

Posted May 15, 2017
Follow good brown signs to marwell zoo to find the hotel. Located out in the countryside. 15 minutes from Winchester centre. Large car park Perfect reception staff in every way Large room with wardrobe, mirrors chairs massive bed , electric heater and ironing board if needed are in the wardrobe. Tea coffee making Big nice bathroom with bath and shower over.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Not bad for the price & location

Posted May 15, 2017
Cons: Rooms & blocks a bit dated
Attending for a wedding, hotel arranged early check in for us but couldn't guarantee it, so we didn't know until the day, others attending wedding were not so lucky. Included breakfast was pretty good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

an excellent overnight stay

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: We liked everything about the hotel, wished we had more time to explore.
Cons: The spa facilities were a little tired looking, we still enjoyed our swim.
Location: We went to a tour of the Bombay Sapphire Gin Distillery in Whitchurch, about 35 minutes from the hotel. A wonderful experience.
We stayed at the Marvell Hotel the night before we were to visit the Bombay Sapphire Gin Distillery in Whitchurch. Arrived mid afternoon, after going to our lovely room we went for a swim in the hotel spa, although the spa was a little tired looking we spent a pleasant hour swimming. Our evening meal was a ten out of ten, staff were brilliant, attentive but not intrusive, the food was first class. After a wonderful nights sleep we had a first class breakfast. The young staff were a credit to the hotel owners. Our only regret is we could not stay longer, we will be returning. Thank you for making our short stay great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Posted May 5, 2017
Hotel very tired outdated!! Bar staff uncommadating tables filthy
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Dirty rooms, noisy; can hear all noise in other rooms, dated and smelt musty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Dissapointing

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Cons: Cleanliness of rooms and the shower pressue is a must.
Location: Not applicable for our trip - stayed only for a wedding on site.
We stayed at Marwell Hotel for a friends wedding - the wedding room was lovely and the room itself at first glance looked ok. But on closer inspection the whole room was thick with dust. The shower was horrendous! No power whatsoever. The corridors and fire escape/balcony portion of the room was thick with green moss/mould. It did the job for a crash pad overnight stay but would not be a returning guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Michelin star quality dinner in the restaurant

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Michelin star quality set menu dinner in the restaurant, very good breakfast also
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Is in a good location, very cozy. What could improve was just the drinks that served in the lounge bar. I enjoyed my accommodation with my partner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west sussex

Great time

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Fab stay at hotel. Room nice, staff lovely, used the pool. Breakfast was really good buffet style. My two young daughters had a brilliant time on first stay in a hotel. We visited the zoo which was a fantastic day out.