Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Clean and comfortable newly built garden room -

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Location to train station
Cons: Wifi signal
I booked the economy double as no singles available. Very clean and quick check in. No wifi signal in the room - had to sit in dining area to use wifi. Left early and no subsitute for my missed breakfast was offered so cannot give a full review. I would use the guesthouse again if I had to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north berwick

Very central, good restaurants within easy walking

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Central
Cons: Room only for a single bed
Location: See above
Room too small for a double bed or even a chair. Bed otherwise very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room but shared bathroom needs attention.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Small shower in big room, no light or water in toilet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I didn't stay there. I left.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
I didn't stay there. I left. The room smelt of smoke.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Wight

Close to mayflower

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Position
Location: Central to eveything
Surprised just how close to the Mayflower Theatre, we could see it. The room, although small, was clean comfortable and adequate. The staff very friendly, superb breakfast and excellent value for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B near by the city centre

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Location: The hotel is very near by the city centre, only 10min walk. There are also some food shops near by, so you don't end up being hungry.
We stayed in that hotel for 3 days. We were satisfied with everything, nice and tidy room and breakfast was also excellent. The only thing we did not like was that rooms were quite cold, as they switched off the heating in the morning and switched on in the afternoon. I know that we were supposed to go exploring the city instead sitting there but we were searching a new accommodation by the internet and went to have a look at the houses later afternoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Penang, Malaysia

Value for money

Posted Dec 23, 2016
For the rate we pay the hotel was better than our expectations. The room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom looked new with all amenities provided. Free self parking along the road in front of the hotel. Breakfast was great and cooked and served on the spot. Good choice of full English with cereals,juice,fruits, selection of tea and coffee. The lady who managed the place, Rupin (hope I got the name right) was very friendly and hospitable. Would stay again if back in Southampton.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic guest house

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Breakfasts
Cons: The carpentry work in the rooms, there's gaps under doors of about an inch and large gaps around the frame work
Location: Location perfect walking distance to theatre ,town etc
Basic guest house recently refurbished room was on the smaller side with twin beds close together bathroom also very small ,staff are all very nice and pleasant to talk to ,cooked breakfast excellent most days would of been nice to have had a choice of a continental breakfast as not everyone wants a full English everyday but there are a cereal if wanted .Now BEWARE of parking you only have 2 hours at the most, you guest it I ended up with parking ticket and I'm a blue badge holder as I'm disabled it certainly makes your stay less enjoyable and more expensive
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Clean and well presented room. Little things missing which could make it better such as shampoo and conditioner in the room. No plug socket next to the kettle etc. Parking was also an issue. Staff could have been a little more helpful to guide visitors to the free parking in nearby streets. However it was a pleasant room clean and comfortable and in the centre of town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southampton

mayview

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
nice place for a single night