Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

Basic hotel missing added comfort extras

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Beds were really hard and the room was very hot. No air con and the window was useless. Staff were very polite and friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for you. Free wifi only in public areas had to pay for it in your rooms. Breakfast was good and two restaurants to choose from. The al a carte restaurants food was excellent and the zest restaurant served more basic but just as delicious food. The only thing that let it down was the kids menu there was only 3 items to choose from. Overall the hotel was ok but we won't be staying again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, good Hotel, needs updating

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location, quite, good facilities
Cons: AIRCON!!! Staff training.
Firstly we are a family of 4, and although the room was a good size, there was only enough bathing supplies for 2, and most importantly that dispite having a fan in the room, it was unbearably hot, and therefore none of us really got much sleep. I dont think I have stayed in a hotel without aircon in many years. The second issue was dinner. We booked for a meal at 9pm, arrived there at 9.10, placed our food order at 9.20 but didn’t get our food until 10.10, this is clearly too long, particularly with a young child, she got rather upset. Sticking with dinner, 3 out of the 4 meals were good. I ordered a special which was described as Pork chop with a red wine sauce, new potatoes and seasonal veg. I got all of those and the pork was excellent, however, I had 1 & 1/2 tiny new potatoes and 3 small sprigs of veg. The entire meal was less that 1/3 a plate, but due to the long wait and early start we had the next day I had to put up with it, I did order a side salad to try and fill myself up a bit, but that didn’t really go with the food. We also ordered sweet potato wedges and got a tea saucer of soggy sweet potatoes fries, they were horrible. Finally we paid for the breakfast, which in all was excellent, but again ruined when 2 of us who used the Ketchup which was very very cheap and like vinegar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Disappointing

Posted Jul 29, 2016
I stayed at this hotel last year and had a pleasant stay. So I returned again this year, for the most part the hotel was fine, however on the morning I was leaving the shower was not working properly, only very hot water was coming out, no cold water at all. I couldn't shower as I would have burnt. So I rang reception and they asked if I could shower in the leisure centre instead. I wasn't happy about this as firstly I was caught for time, I had a meeting to make and secondly I've paid a lot to stay here, being able to take a shower in the room isn't a lot to ask. So running late I checked out.... At the reception the staff member told me that they knew the shower wasnt working in the section of the hotel I was staying. If they knew all along why didn't they tell me? Or move me to another room? Paying to stay in a Marriott and showering at the pool is very poor to say the least.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Hidden gem

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Nice welcome, well decorated and maintained, good outlook from all rooms. Good breakfast.
Cons: Air con should be installed and mattresses checked and replaced if necessary as ours vas very lumpy and sagged in the middle.
Location: We enjoyed a lovely meal at Wickham Wine Bar & Restaurant with very helpful and friendly staff and delicious food. Only 2.5 miles from hotel.
Lovely hotel in a quiet and pretty location. Stayed just one night before an event in Southampton. Enjoyed using the leisure facilities and the peace and quiet of the area. However as we stayed on a very hot night, there was no air con and the fan was too small to keep the room cool, so we didn't sleep very well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place and comfortable

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Very nice golf place, With a lot of things to do no far from the hotel, and kids friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Stusselig hotell. Teppebelegg overalt. Kronglete. Maur på rommet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Inglewood Ontario Canada

lovely locale out in the country and by a golf

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: lovely locale
Location: Portsmouth Naval museum
very handy to places I visited clean good food pleasant location next to a golf course
4 out of 5
by ASH

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good facilities Hotel

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
Good staff. Good facilities. No issues with the room which isn't outstanding but no problems. Very clean
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but shame about the wifi costs

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel - what you'd expect from a Marriott. Price of 2mb high speed wifi is a rip off in the day and age though - most other chains provide it free !