Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Hidden gem

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Nice welcome, well decorated and maintained, good outlook from all rooms. Good breakfast.
Cons: Air con should be installed and mattresses checked and replaced if necessary as ours vas very lumpy and sagged in the middle.
Location: We enjoyed a lovely meal at Wickham Wine Bar & Restaurant with very helpful and friendly staff and delicious food. Only 2.5 miles from hotel.
Lovely hotel in a quiet and pretty location. Stayed just one night before an event in Southampton. Enjoyed using the leisure facilities and the peace and quiet of the area. However as we stayed on a very hot night, there was no air con and the fan was too small to keep the room cool, so we didn't sleep very well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place and comfortable

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Very nice golf place, With a lot of things to do no far from the hotel, and kids friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Stusselig hotell. Teppebelegg overalt. Kronglete. Maur på rommet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Inglewood Ontario Canada

lovely locale out in the country and by a golf

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: lovely locale
Location: Portsmouth Naval museum
very handy to places I visited clean good food pleasant location next to a golf course
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but shame about the wifi costs

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel - what you'd expect from a Marriott. Price of 2mb high speed wifi is a rip off in the day and age though - most other chains provide it free !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Nice hotel, lovely staff and good for golf

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Staff, grounds and poached eggs
Cons: BEDS! or rather the wheels and pillows
Location: Golf site...perfect for golfers
Lovely hotel and friendly staff kept in a good condition. The only real problem was the design of the bed and the pillows..... The headboard is fixed to the wall but the bed is on wheels, so if you lean back the bed moves from the wall. Now I have seen this before so you get nice big pillows and it solves the issue. Unfortunately ours were useless, the filling had half gone (in all 4!!!) and no spares when we found out at 11 pm. Tried putting a towel under wheels, no help. If it hadn't been for that I would have scored 5/5 and loved the place but as the basic point of a hotel is somewhere to stay and sleep it failed on the basics. Final point, guy behind the counter making eggs fresh (fried, poached) makes the best poached egg I have had in a long time. All the staff were helpful and made you welcome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms not cleaned properly

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Stayed for 3 nights. The first morning they didn't clean the room but the second day all they did was hoovering and changing towels and toilet roll literally. There was dust everywhere not pleasant when you have kids. I had to ask them to dust the window board, the table, the TV cabinet etc. Apart from that the staff were very friendly. The receptionist was lovely and checked in in no time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Really comfy rooms, great breakfast. Not the ritz but lovely place
4 out of 5
by Clint from Portsmouth

A day of family relaxation

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel. Nice pool, and a very good surrounding. The only thing missing to complete our stay was the airconditioning. Although we knew in advance that it wasn't included, but still wish that we had one. It wasn't too bad though when we opened the window and the cool air went inside the room.
2 out of 5
by Ben from The Midlands

Nice Place, shame about the room!

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
I was in a room that was very smelly. I spoke to reception who sent housekeeping with an air freshener spray which may it smell like a toilet for a short while. no follow up call from reception to see if this resolved the smell, nothing. Not even an apology for the smoothie found in the fridge which had mould on it. No mention of the issue when checking out either!