Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Cruise and Stay in the Countryside

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Excellent atmosphere, surroundings, staff, etc.
Cons: The drinks prices were a bit steep. I ordered a large glass of sauvignon blanc and was amazed to be charged almost £10 for it!
Location: Golf course surrounds the hotel, plenty of scope for country walks. Lovely villages to visit, etc.
The hotel is a bit further from Southampton Cruise Terminal than we expected, but on the up side, it is in superb country surroundings, with its own golf course. Reception was excellent as were the rooms. For anyone who uses a manual wheelchair and plans to stay here on their own, they'll need strong arms to get from the disabled driver parking up the steep incline to reception. Once you are there it is pretty easy with the exception of another incline inside the hotel when you come out at level 4 - bar, restaurant, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Lovely location and venue

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Delivered exactly what we required to a very high standard and the staff were polite and very helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Disappointed

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Not the best stay I've had here as the first room was dirty and I was moved into another room. Loads of bugs / insects in the room and around the window frames.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too far from Southampton.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Very nice polite staff, but the bathroom was filthy and had not been cleaned between uses. We were put in a section on the left that was undergoing renovation and redecoration, and noted other guests placed in a better location close to dining and spa facilities. The pool was not clean. The steam room was extremely filthy we noted numerous pubic hairs and dead skin someone had left in piles on the bench. We exited immediately and felt our skin itch all over.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Great hotel, will stay again.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Great location, nice and quite and will stay again.
I have stayed at this hotel before, and will stay again. The hotel staff are always welcoming, the rooms are clean and tidy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing End to a Weekend

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Cons: Customer Service training to Front Desk Staff Improve Housekeeping.
Location: Whiteley Shopping Centre.
We booked 2 nights at Meon Valley for Saturday and Sunday. The Hotel had excellent Health Club, and felt we could have time to enjoy the facilities. Everything turned out to be as good as we could expect. Sauna, Steam Room, Jacuzzi, Gym. However, what we thought was a great weekend but had a disappointing ending. Mon We booked out at 9:30am, On arriving home we noticed that a very expensive shirt had been left on the bed, and not packed away. I phoned the hotel reception at 1pm. Only 3.5 hours since we left. The receptionist said she would inform the housekeeper, and took my mobile number. The room was less than a minute from Reception Desk. 4 hours later no phone call, so i called again. The receptionist said the housekeeper had not done the room yet. I told the receptionist that I could drive back and collect it, but she said NO. Tues At 9:30am the following day. I phoned again The receptionist said Housekeeper wasn't at work on Monday, but said she would investigate. Wed No phone call from hotel, so I phoned again on Wednesday, 4th phone call. Receptionist said she would go and look for me and apologised no one got back. Receptionist called me back and said she couldn't see any lost property that resembles my item. She said she would call again after speaking to housekeeper. Thurs Manager calls to apologise, they can't find shirt. Hotels employ untrained staff, and customer service is appalling! My regret, I should have driven back to hotel and collected it myself on Mon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from notts/Derby

Mesl

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Hotel very well presented surrounded by parkland golf course. My room was on level 5 which was up two flights of steps fro ground floor? A little confusing initially. Leisure centre looked good, well used by locals as well as guests. My meal in the restaurant was very disappointing sirloin steak and chips £27 is acceptable if presented and cooked well however steak over cooked, McDonald's standard French fries with paper napkins? At that price I would expect home made chips, steak cooked as requested and linen napkins. Will not eat at hotel again but would stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Lovely hotel in great location, the staff where amazing and I would stay again.
5 out of 5
by Denise

Good priced spa hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed the spa facilities & excellent breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Cons: Found dinner menu choice very poor and quality of evening food very mediocre.
Overall hotel is reasonably good, however evening food very poor for a hotel of this rating!