Ratings based on 612 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very pleasant hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: friendly staff , nice atmosphere
Cons: room service charges and more milk on tea/coffee trays in room
Location: good location for shops, bars restaurants and red funnel ferry
Hotel was very clean ,staff friendly. Our room 312 was pleasant but unfortunately we had the noise of the fan/air-con unit outside and couldn't open the window as it was far to noisy .The other negative was the tray charge on room service £5 per person !!!!! The positives were the amazingly comfortable bed and all the very fresh and clean bed linen and towels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hants

Not a 4 Star Hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: N/A
Cons: Total revamp required
Location: N/A
Room was dated and not worth 4 stars. Shower broken, body hairs on headboard, noisy, dirty and smelly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Great central hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Stayed for one night with my partner and loved it. The central location is ideal for going shopping and going out for the evening. The room was hard to find due to the windy corridors and lots of staircases but that's what you expect from such an old building and adds to the charm. It was fresh and well decorated throughout. Floor is a bit creaky in places but again, being such an old building it is what you'd expect. Room was in good condition, perhaps could benefit from having less furniture, the chair wasn't needed and made it cramped. Bed was very comfortable and adequate size for two. Bathroom needed a little tlc but it wasn't dirty. Just a little shabby. Only thing I'd say they really need to look at is the condition of the car park. The ground is appalling and full of potholes and bumps. I was scared it would damage my car and was also unsafe to walk on. You couldn't pull a suitcase along behind you that's for sure! I'd definitely stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old building but rooms were dated

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Nice hotel with nice people and perfect location to shops restaurants and football stadium. Lobby and public areas nice. Rooms dated in look and quality and more like cheaper hotel chains. But bed comfortable and showers works well and it was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sheffield

Nice traditional style hotel, near restaurants and

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Upgraded on arrival to an enormous room with separate sitting room. Comfortable king size bed, nespresso machine, free soft drinks in mini bar. Room was quiet and had all the amenities needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Permanently travelling

Great Location

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: It is a classic hotel that has been modernised without loosing its history
Cons: I do not agree with being charged for parking in a hotel where i am paying for room and board. But that's my personal opinion.
Location: Lots of history in the old town.. the red lion pub one block away and of course the walls and bar gate. Tudor house are all right there at your feet
Started bumpy, as i had just travelled for 30 hours, due to my having 2 roller bags and being exhausted. The front desk switched my room to a ground level. Not only noisy (I didn't see the ear plugs provided, nor have i ever worn earplugs in my life) it was a disabled room.. i almost broke my neck falling out of the bath/shower with the extra height. I let the front staff know and they wonderfully moved me to a normal room. Great spacious enough especially for the UK, great beds and no issues whatsoever. I had breakfast included in my stay and it was amazing! Highly recommend it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
The room was very small with no space to store luggage or clothes other than the floor. The walls were heavily marked and the bathroom was in poor condition.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff, very friendly. Room was a little small but still functional. Bed was comfy, had a really good nights sleep. Bathroom was a little tired looking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
Take your own hairdryer as the room doesn't have one.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels