Ratings based on 454 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to town centre

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Buffet breakfast always lukewarm no matter what time arrive. Ordered food ok. Afternoon tea good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Will, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for feedback. I apologise that the breakfast was lukewarm. I will ask the team to check that the settings on the buffet are correctly set ensure that the food is replenished little and often. Kind regards William McWilliam
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient with great views of the Cathedral

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Ideal location for Winchester Cathedral and the centre. Not a high quality hotel but functional. Bathroom needs upgrading and bedroom was small. Acceptable for an overnight business stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by will, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and letting us know you had an acceptable overnight stay. Please coma back once we have completed our refurbishment later in the year. Kind Regards William McWilliam
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

G

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Clean or recorded passages
Location: Very central and close to main Street and the cathedral
Good location Good breakfast Parking average Passages and carpets therein stained and threadbare Bathroom mediocre Bed old sprung mattress
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton

nice hotel, close to city centre. some quaint room

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: location.
Cons: some rooms are dated now, carpets wearing.
Location: lots of things to do. history is everywhere.
looking for a convenient hotel to Winchester. a business trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Ancient and modern

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Location, view and quietness.
Cons: Room could do with a deep clean.
Location: Good with lots to do!
Outside, square box architecture next to ancient cathedral is unbalanced, but it's central. Some staff extremely helpful, one or two a bit nonchalant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Close to the wonderful High st and cathedral

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: View of cathedral - how on earth did it get built so close?
Cons: Bath silicon a bit sloughy.
Location: Ancient lanes, great shops and pubs, fab town
2 nights, parking available on site (12 GBP daily) Warm rooms - able to open windows for fresh air. a few stairs from lift with luggage. A bit old but good value
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to shops and restaurants

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Very handy locations for a girls' weekend. Shops and restaurants all within walking distance. Hotel has parking £12 not bad at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor administration

Posted Dec 19, 2016
A tremendous muddle was made over the checking out which included us being phoned 40 minutes after we had left and charged for 4 breakfasts that we had already paid for.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chilly rooms, tepid water and frosty reception!

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
Although a great location the rooms were cold and the hot water was tepid, making a somewhat uncomfortable shower. Double glazing is old, draughty and noisy and clearly needs updating. The bar was also cold and we had to keep our coats on to be comfortable. Felt it was only fair to mention these issues to the staff rather than just give a poor review online, but they were clearly uninterested. Shame as fab location. Have contacted Mercure group and await their comments.