Ratings based on 359 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Cons: For some reason the TV remote control and the advertised channels did not correspond.
Location: A central location next to the Cathedral and walking into town was easy. We would recommend the Keats' walk and a visit to the Christmas market.
We found the Mercure Hotel to be excellent. The staff were helpful and answered any questions that we had. The breakfasts had a wide range of appetizing foods and when we had a dinner the choices were much more than adequate
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Prima hotel, gebouw wat gedateerd

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Mooi in het centrum van Winchester, parkeren beperkt mogelijk bij volle bezetting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

City Centre Hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Its central position in Winchester
Cons: Advance warning of parking fees , although you are staying at the hotel they will charge you for overnight parking on the hotel grounds (£11per night)
Location: Visit this famous Winchester Cathedral and grounds, the Great Hall with the round table.
Very easy to locate, staff were very helpful. Had a room with a view of Winchester Cathedral very quiet and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Blocked-in Winchester

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Car-parking
Location: Cathedral, Great Hall, shopping: If staying Friday's or Saturday's suggest you book your meal with the chosen restaurant as most were fully booked
The hotel is perfectly situated for walking into the centre of Winchester. The staff are friendly and willing to please. Whilst the overall feel of the hotel is dated (70's) the rooms are clean and have been modernised. The restaurant /breakfast room overlooks the cathedral grounds, is light and we were offered the usual range of cereals and help yourself buffet beakfast. My only gripe is that I found my car blocked in when I can to leave. No-one could find teh car-park attendant (?) and after 20 minutes we were able to track down (via reception) 1 of the 2 cars that caused the issue. Pity I was late for the start of the wedding. Considering they insist on you leaving the car-park by mid-day, I suggest the hotel change their processes for parking before someone else gets block-in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2015
The hotel position was convenient to the Xmas market. The front staff were excellent. The most disappointing part was visiting the Gents toilet below reception though clean, the wallpaper was peeling off the walls!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York State

Nice hotel, right next to Winchester Cathedral

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Everything about the hotel was pleasant: the facilities, the room, the comfort, the staff. Another wonderful aspect about this hotel is the location: It is right next to Winchester Cathedral, only a 15 minute walk to the train station, and located on a street adjacent to the main market area. Loved staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Staff were excellent

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Hotel was ok, not happy about paying £11.00 to park the car out in the open, breakfast was good, staff were attentive. For what the Hotel I thought it was overpriced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Simon from Warwick

Hotel okay but nothing special

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Quite an ordinary Hotel with quite expensive prices. Slightly disappointed as I thought this Hotel would be in better condition, all seemed a bit tired and in need of some refurbishment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy bathroom and plumbing - bring earplugs!!

Posted Oct 28, 2015
I stayed here for work and when I checked in the chap behind the desk was very friendly and helpful. Stayed in room 137, which was small, but fine. My issues started when the people next door returned to their room at about 11.30pm. They weren't noisy guests at all, but every time they used the bathroom through the night (quite a bit!) the pipes made so much noise, and it sounded as though a toilet was being flushed in the room with me. It was so ridiculously loud. When I checked-out I informed the woman on reception that I had had a bad nights sleep and explained the above experience. She really couldn't have cared less, telling me: 'well we can't make the walls ant thicker'. It was a really poor attitude. I wasn't expecting her to rush up to the room there and then to sound-proof it, but I did expect to be listened to, receive a polite apology and feel like she'd make a note of it. I stay in Winchester a lot for work - I won't be returning here.