Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Cons: More variety for breakfast.
It is a serviceable hotel without any exceptional qualities. The room was large and well furnished although the pull-out sofa bed was not comfortable for sleeping. The breakfast was average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cornwall

Friendly staff and good food

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Friendly service, good food
We stayed here on our way to the ferry port at Portsmouth - we didn't want a faceless chain hotel so picked the Mortimer Arms and were really pleased we did. Firstly, it was quite a bit cheaper than the chains, and secondly it felt just like being in our "local" - personal, friendly service, good pub food and the bonus of a eucalele band playing that night, with all the locals singing along!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Anglia

Generally poor

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Waiter service for the evening "meal" was exemplary, shame the food wasn't prepared by the waiter.
Cons: Pretty much everything.
Location: Not applicable - I stayed for accommodation reasons on business.
I stay in 2 or 3 hotels / B&B's every week so can reflect on what I consider the "norm". This establishment has very tired facilities with excessive noise from staff area of kitchens until mid evening and then during the evening and then before breakfast. Not assisted by poor grade synthetic wood floors, carpet would make the old rooms warmer and less vulnerable to the noise which prevailed. Internet poor / non existent - almost called a liar when I complained but sure as heck neither my tablet not my laptop worked off their home internet connection. Food poor - thin 10oz gammon crispy if you like it that way for the evening meal selected and breakfast awash from the liquid off the cold mushrooms. No I would not stay here again and can't think of too many reasons why I would consider that folly
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Satisfaction

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
There was not enough Wifi coverage in the rooms besides only having 2 Hours at a time from the bar
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but requires new management

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
For 1 nights stay, we had a room which was divided in 2. It had a terrible smell of mould and in fact there was mould around the bath and decor was coming away. It was dated and able to get Wifi, very poor signal. A chair in the room was very worn, marked and was something you wished not to sit on. They had a very small TV 22 monitor size that was in the second room ,that was for the child as that had only the sofa bed in there whilst our room had only the main bed which was nice. Not much of a welcome and the place needs refurbishment. As Inn , there are strict rules of what times children can be in the restaurant and bar and so not really ideal for young families. Found the choices for breakfast limited and not the usual standard one would expect from a 4 star hotel. Told only a choice of 4 items for a child's breakfast. As a regular traveller to hotels, I was very disappointed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel DEFINATELY we would like to visit again

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
The people were just so nice, taking care of my family with babies. The room was really pretty more than we had expected, and the food from the restaurant was brilliant. Only problem was that the doors were not wide enough for our stroller for twins. But everything else was just great. It was one of really few times that my wife was fully satisfied even though wifi was not that strong.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
The room was a bit tired but full of character. The food in the restaurant was very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire, UK

Comfortable and good sized room.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Our room was a good size with very clean and comfortable beds. Our carpet was dusty and bathroom floor wasn't clean having debris in the corners. The bathroom mat was left black underneath. My husbands lamb meal was excellent, but my trout and everything else on my plate was smothered with too much, very hot curry/mustard sauce. Staff all excellent.