Ratings based on 315 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth uk

Nice break away

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Excellent break. Hotel and setting was lovely, calm and relaxed and so quiet at night. Lovely room comfortable bed and best pillows ever so good have had to order some! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed swim in the pool although we did not use the spa. Good location near Winchester. Overall would definitely recommend to family and friends and would stay there again in the future..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Liked the hotel...

Posted Jul 9, 2016
The hotel was very good. Particularly liked the South African lady who was the 'breakfast greeter'. Found the room a bit warm. On this feedback form "cleaniness" should have another 'l' in it: cleanliness.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Quiet hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Location: We visited Winchester cathedral and Stonehenge during our stay at the Norton Park.
The hotel was set in beautiful grounds, very quiet and peaceful, just what we wanted for the start of our trip. Staff were extremely helpful and efficient nothing was too much trouble.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from County Down

Quiet, relaxing but a little cosy

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Beautiful quiet setting with fabulous facilities, pool, spa etc. We stayed over 2 very warm nights and the room was a little cramped with no air conditioning. Staff supplied a sheet to dispense with the duvet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2016 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed our quiet setting and facilities. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Lovely rural location in extensive grounds

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Grounds & quietness
Cons: Key system. Rear access from car park. Reception staff. Breakfast staff & operation.
Location: Only 10 minutes from Winchester; lots of pretty villages in locality with plenty of good pubs to choose from.
Our room was situated at the very rear of the hotel (over 300 yards from reception) & our room key failed to work on several occasions necessitating long walks to have it reset; staff conceded that this was a frequent problem for guests & still unresolved after 4 attempts by management at installing new key systems. In addition, though we parked in rear car park near our room, there was no access into the hotel at this end of the building, so we had to scramble down a grassy bank and enter through a side door which was sometimes locked at night! Also breakfast arrangements somewhat chaotic with ingredients for cooked breakfast frequently running out & therefore unavailable; bread toasters also very slow in operation. Otherwise, room comfortable though mattress on bed felt flabby & sagged in middle. This could be a superb hotel & certainly has excellent facilities, but needs some substantial TLC & some energetic management to lift it from a lack-lustre budget operation, catering for coach parties & conferences.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Tom , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and I am sorry for the shortfalls you experienced during your stay. We will shortly be installing a new key card system with a different company as we have been unable to resolve the recurring issues we have at present. There is an entrance at the rear of the property by the spa, which guests may find easier to use if staying in this part of the hotel. Your comments will be shared with the team and used to improve our service and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Looe

Disappointing Friday Night Stay

Posted May 21, 2016
Pros: The waiting staff in the restaurant were brilliant - the head waiter was a star and the lovely young lady who served us our meals a true credit to the
Cons: Nice butter at breakfast please
Location: Too far away for my taste
2 problems - no room in dinning room and the room allocated to us was miles away from reception. My mum is in her 70's and it was a long hike for her. I had to complain to reception to get a table in the dinning room - I am not sure where they thought we would be eating as the hotel is miles away from anywhere. Eventually after moaning which I hate - we got a table and the food was really lovely. The receptionist service was not good - slow to answer the phone and to even come to the reception desk. The waiting staff were brilliant - the head waiter was a star and the lovely young lady who served us our meals a true credit to the staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2016 by Tom, Hotel Management
I am sorry for the shortfalls you experienced during your stay. Closer bedroom are available on request and we do recommend pre-booking in our restaurant as it is very popular. Dining is also available in our lounge bar. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the team in the restaurant and we hope we can welcome you back and restore your faith in us in the future.
3 out of 5
by Greg from Whitchurch

Pretty average really!!

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
A nights break with the Mrs, hotel was not too bad but the impression that the pictures gave was that it was a nice modern hotel. This was not the case, they have used new furnishings to try and hide the tired looking decor. Was not told that we had to book in the restaurant so had to have room service which can with a cheeky additional £5 charge for the pleasure. Room was average size and bathroom was tiny, so much so it only had s shower. Wasn't a bad place but would go again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Tom, Hotel Management
I am sorry for the shortfalls you experienced during your stay with us. We do have refurbishment planned for some public areas of the hotel over the course of the next year. Some bedrooms do have a bath so it is recommended to request one of these if required. I hope that you both enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
5 out of 5
by rachael from Manchester

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
Week long stay for attendance at course in Winchester which is 15 -20 minute drive from the hotel. Friendly and helpful service. Pool and luxury steam room are great and spa open until 6-7pm. Variety available at breakfast and newspapers offered too. Request a room with a bath, which although a walk from reception are slightly more spacious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2016 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and your great recommendations for other guests! I am so pleased that you enjoyed all of our facilities and we hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2016 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review rating, we hope to welcome you back soon!
5 out of 5
by Susan from East Midlands

Norton Park - Spa long weekend

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel and surroundings were excellent, as was the restaurant. We had a problem with the door keys - which I believe has been an ongoing issue - but is being resolved ! The staff were most helpful and went out of their way to address any inconvenience. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2016 by Tom, Hotel Management
Thanks you for your review and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your spa weekend, particularly the restaurant and hotel surroundings. I am so pleased that the team looked after you well and we hope to welcome you back to Norton Park soon.