Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Mary

Tiny room with lots of noisy traffic

Posted Sep 17, 2012 on Hotels
I do not recommend this hotel. Room was suppose to be a dbl room, but so tiny it hardly qualified for a sgl. No one present when we checked in, but had call before hand. Room was hot as hell, no aircon and you could hear everything going on in the next room. Much noise from very congested road outside with the added feature of all long NOISY roadworks. I had all but 3 hrs sleep and the staff's attitude was 'whatever' no one else said anything!? So Im in the wrong then? A project B&B with one purpose only, making money... check into a proper hotel, committed to providing good overall service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to motorway

Posted Sep 16, 2012 on Hotels
No one available at location when checking in, just key left in an envelope. Room clean overall but carpet had a lot of staining. No chair in room so had to use laptop on bed which was very inconvenient. Good location close to the M3.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2012 on Hotels
Hotel and staff were very professional and would return if I needed a hotel in that area.
3 out of 5
by Bob from Devon

'Full' breakfast is Full Continental, NOT English!

Posted Jul 5, 2012
Cons: Misleading description of breakfast
Location: pretty good
Small room, which wasn't too bad for one night but very disappointed that an advertised 'full breakfast' is actually continental, not a full English, which was the only reason I booked this hotel. Friendly staff, but toast and cereal does not make up for missing eggs, sausages, bacon etc.!
3 out of 5
by Petersen

ikke langt fra lufthavn, men ellers fra alt andet

Posted May 16, 2012 on Hotels
der var kun regnet med 1 prs pr værelse, 1 håndklæde pr værelse, vi var 2 par og der var en frygtelig larm fra et tv der kørte hele tiden mens vi spiste morgenmad og "værten" samt en gæst diskuterede et emne der var på tv, dette resulterede i de skruede mere op så det var umuligt at tale sammen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

A friendly welcome

Posted Feb 29, 2012 on Hotels
I recieved a friendly welcom at the Guest house. the room was comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. their internet was free and much faster than at the usual hotels i stayed at. Kathy even made me a takeawy cup of coffee in the morning to drink on my way to the meeting. overlall a very pleasent place to stay with the only drawbak that you have to check in before 8pm which is not good if i was driving down late sunday night for an early start monday.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Homely and cosy

Posted Feb 27, 2012 on Hotels
Great stay at this hotel. There is a dearth of hotels in Basingstoke that are value for money and friendly - this one completely meets the bill. Stayed in room 8 which was fine for me being a single 5ft traveller. two people would struggle with teh cslopping attic room. But very cosy and homely. Breakfat was fab.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't assume 'full breakfast' means full English!

Posted Feb 10, 2012
There were some pubic hairs on the rim of the toilet from the last occupant and breakfast that was described as 'full' was in fact a cold buffet. I only needed a bed for the night, so compared to the hotels in the area it was reasonable value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Keep this number for a return stay,

Posted Jan 29, 2012
After a hicup with the booking, I was initially rather aloof - my colleague and I were quickly made at ease by the owners who were very cheerful and helpful. The rooms were small compared to what I am used to, but it is England! and for the price was more than comparable. The breakfast was good. If in town for business again I would choose to stay at the Guest House.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yeovil

old basing guest house, basingstoke.

Posted Nov 9, 2011 on Hotels
we only stayed one night and we liked it. the owners were lovely. bedroom light and modern. super comfy bed and lovely continental breakfast. could not ask for more.