Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A. from Manchester

Our room wasn't ready!

Posted Sep 23, 2016
We arrived at 4.30pm & our room wasn't ready... We had a 5 hour drive from Manchester to Portsmouth & just wanted to have a rest before going out again at 6pm! We were offered a complimentary drink & the opportunity to shower & change in the Spa, but we needed our room... The Duty Manager stepped in, took over from the Receptiinist, he found us a lower grade room & reduced the room fate appropriately... Good nights sleep & lovely breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Helen, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced on arrival but I am glad to hear the issue was resolved by the Duty Manager. Kind regards Helen PA to General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Very good

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Staff friendly and helpful, I lost my bag and they did everything to help me get it back , which I did!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Helen, Hotel Management
Dear Jan, Thank you for a great review score and comments. I am glad we were able to return your bag and I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Helen PA to General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Very noisy

Posted Sep 13, 2016
We were bothered by the noise of a very loud generator all night. Management offered us the Porchester Suite a few doors along but it was clear the noise levels were no different in there plus it was thick with dust. Manager accepted there was a problem and that there had been other similar complaints in the night and agreed without us asking to 25% discount. It was suggested the noise was coming from a nearby restaurant. Don't think so. Hotel rooms seemed dated. Breakfast area seemed clean and staff friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by Helen, Hotel Management
Dear Jo136, Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were disturbed during the night by outside noise. We are currently having our windows replaced so this should not be an issued moving forward. Kind regards Helen PA to General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was there for Victorious Festival so perfect

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Fabulous for what I wanted Clean quiet breakfast just what I needed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfortunately they are replacing the facade

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Noisy during the day because of construction. Otherwise very friendly staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad hotel design

Posted Aug 30, 2016
A wedding was on and the noise was load till early hours, the room was in the middle of the hotel. Didn't clean bedroom and the pool is also in the open in the middle of the hotel and again noise from kids very early.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel shame work on refurbishment was on goin

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Only problem was building work was on going. It would of been nice to of been told beforehand.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Helen, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you for your feedback and great score. Kind regards Helen PA to General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Great location for all the family

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Perfect location close to something for all the family. From designer outlets for great shopping, historic sights including Mary Rose, HMS Victory and good dining. There is so much to see and do and the Marriot was the perfect base. The hotel facilities are very good and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. 10/10 for a good night's sleep. The food we experienced was a little disappointing due to a limited menu. The hotel was under refurbishment when we stayed which we were not aware of. We were disturbed before 9am one morning with loud drilling. We mentioned this at reception and was immediately offered a room change and a discount off our room rate by the Duty Manager. The Guest Liason Manager helped us to move rooms and provided complimentary refreshments waiting in our new room. I work in the service industry and I have never experienced a Hotel Chain and their Team exceeding cutomer expectations which was really appreciated. We will definitely stay there again and would recommend this hotel. Thank you for a great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Helen, Hotel Management
Dear Murray's, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced but I am glad to hear they were resolved by the team. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future. Kind regards Helen PA to General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Bad condition of bed.hotel look like 2**.staff was bad .service was bad .we slept on the floor.there wasn't slipper.the hotel was bad .too expensive of the hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Helen, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am sorry you experienced issues during your stay. I take all feedback seriously and I have passed your comments to the whole team for review. Kind regards Helen PA to General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stop over for a family of four.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Easy to find and easy to park & clean spacious rooms however, There is some substantial building work going on which started about 9am, the banging and drilling woke everyone one up, after a long day and late night it was the last thing we needed! Some warning would have been appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Helen, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you were disturbed during your stay. Kind regards Helen PA to General Manager