Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Very well presented hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: online
Cons: Maybe by having bar snacks on the menu for people who don't wish to use the restaurant.
Location: There were plenty of leaflets available showing numerous attractions nearby, we visited Marwell Zoo which was very good.
We really enjoyed our stay and Potters Heron and would highly recommend it. Found the room comfortable, spacious, clean and well presented, we especially liked the balcony. It was a very peaceful, restful place to stay and we would have no hesitation in booking again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from spain

My stay at Potters Heron

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Bar and restaurant area were good plus it has plenty of parking. used a lot for weddings and functions of all kinds over the last 60 year
Cons: Balconies and hotel bedrooms
Location: Fairly close to Winchester, Chandlersford and Romsey. An Abbey in Romsey and a wonderful cathedral in Winchester
It is in a lovely situation and an area I know well as I used to go there regularly as I lived in Chandlers Ford as a teenager/adult. The restaurant and bar are good with a reasonable menu. The reception area is pleasant and the staff are good but the bedrooms etc need refurbishing. There are balconies outside the rooms which are in a terrible state. The room we had I would say had not been used for a while and smelt damp and musty. They were fully booked so there was no alternative room available. There was a fire door prior to the area we were in and when you came through it the temperature was cold and damp as if not used that often. However I complained and they had the heating put on which had been turned off for the summer and things improved. I last stayed there about 14 years ago and then said it needed a refurb in the bedroom areas and it still has not had one!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Crawley Sussex

Nice country individual country hotel, good food.

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Quintessential British Country Pub / Hotel, traditional outside, great modern country style inside, open & spacious.
Makes a nice change from the corporate changes of hotels, good food not cheap, would defiantly use it again just would choose a single bed for me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2016
The room was a bit cold however everything else was ok :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Spacious hotel with excellent parking.

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: Space, interesting dinning area, large car park, fairly handy location, good staff.
Cons: Bathroom
Location: Just stayed overnight, wooded location, not noisy.
Good hotel with spacious bar and dinning areas. Room was fine although could do with bathroom upgrade but everything functioned so ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for a one nighter!

Posted Feb 28, 2013
Pros: Food!
Cons: Bathroom is super dated and a little dirty, no Internet!!
Location: Beautiful surroundings
Lovely hotel, been here 3 times with work. Last time I stayed the Internet wasn't working in my room and it took them almost an hour and a half to come to the conclusion to move me to another room but by then it was a little late in the evening which resulted in me getting no work done at all. The phone reception is absolutely dyer so if you need the Internet/phone for work in the evenings then this unfortunately isn't the place for you. Lovely area and great staff though, will be stopping again in a few weeks! Oh one more thing, the rooms get a little cold in the night so take a hoodie or jumper to wear..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Visit to Ampfield

Posted Oct 28, 2012
Pros: Decor & Furnishings
Cons: Nothing
Location: Ideall for my visit to the area
A lovely hotel with friendly and efficient staff in a beautiful setting
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for families

Posted Oct 7, 2012
Very friendly and welcoming. Great stay bar menu could have been more extensive
4 out of 5
by Maura from Cumbria

Great value country hotel.

Posted Sep 25, 2012
Pros: The ambiance and the breakfast
Cons: Tired decor
Location: Out of the town/city but within very easy access.
A wonderful country hotel, the staff were very welcoming, courteous and helpful. The bar & restaurant area was modern and inviting with a good range of drinks. The menu was varied but unfortunately I did not have time to sample any of the food. My room was spacious and comfortable, the fittings and decor were very worn and in need of updating, e.g. the shower rail was rusting, frayed edges to the carpets, stained curtains. But it was clean and there was plenty of tea & coffee making facilities. Wi-fi is free but I found the coverage sporadic as was my mobile reception. The TV entertainment was easy to use and the recently released on DVD movies that I watched through the 'Special Offer' Channel turned out to be free! The cooked buffet breakfast was the best I have eaten in a hotel, a pity there wasn't more fresh fruit available though. It is not a suitable hotel for the disabled as there are stairs to access most of the rooms, bars and restaurants, I am sure they provide access for wheelchairs but I could not readily see where they were.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great traditionally thatched hotel/inn.

Posted Jul 14, 2012
This is a charming hotel and was perfect for us as we were visiting with family in the near vicinity. There were some minor problems, difficulty accessing wifi in the bedroom, non delivery of newspaper and final bill issues but, all were resolved in a timely manner. We will definitely be back.