Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, Devon

Nice hotel near to the beach. Always wanted stay.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Its location
Cons: Showing some signs of age and neglect
Location: Lots to do in Portsmouth. I went to see the Mary Rose exhibition as when I lived in Portsmouth I saw it coming up from the Solent.
Was a child in Portsmouth and always wanted to stay in this Hotel. Back for a visit so decided to. Large comfortable room but the window curtain rail was hanging down at end making it impossible to draw curtain. The maintenance guy got straight onto it when I told him in the morning! Great Breakfast. the Bar was sadly unpopulated during my stay. The Balcony of room 244 was starting to fall apart and looked like a safety issue to people in the car park. A nice Hotel starting to show signs of its age and neglect.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Isle of Wight

Sad end to a grand lady

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Sadly only the memories of what once was.
Cons: Everything. The hotel needs a complete face life & renovation program. Staff morale was at an all time low, suggest 'Perk Box', to reward the staff.
Location: Great location, and amenities. Fantastic seafront views, Plenty to see or do in the area.
The Hotel & staff were run down completely since our last stay 6 years ago. There was no hot water or heating during our stay. Breakfast was also let down as the buffet was out of order & when our breakfast did arrive, it was cold. I was engaged in this hotel, but now I shall never return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from suseex

Enjoyable birthday break.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Reception was clean tidy grand and welcoming. Easily accessible lift. The room was cleaned well each day. The view from the window. Good value .
Location: Reasonable walking distance to the dockyard and all the attractions there. Close to the promenade to enable brisk healthy walks.
We enjoyed the view from our very comfortable room. Good to park the car so close. Easy walking to local attractions.. Friendly and welcoming staff. Nice to choose where to eat our dinner. Good plentiful breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

A classic hotel Christmas in a classic old hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Wonderful, professional, kind and helpful staff from front of house all the way through to the housekeeping staff.
Cons: Earlier check in - 1500 is too late if you're travelling some distance. Don't charge for wi-fi apart from small initial charge.
Location: Great seafront and Southsea Common for walks right outside. Museums, restaurants, good shopping and excellent public transport.
The Queens is the grand old lady of hotels in Southsea and the rooms and decor on the ground floor are wonderful. We spent Christmas here and there was a wide range of events. Large, comfortable, warm rooms and bathroom all of which were very clean as was the hotel in the areas we used. Staff were efficient, smart, polite and friendly and I noticed several wheelchair users and older people with walking aids assisted in a competent and friendly way by the staff. Wonderful breakfasts in a beautifully decorated breakfast room. Because of the age of the building (early 1900s) and the traditional design there are several changes in floor levels and stairs but there are lifts are easier access for those with mobility problems. I wouldn't complain about anything as far as location, staff, food, warmth and comfort are concerned and would certainly return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Quiet and relaxing with friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Nice large open space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Was only here for one night but was clean and the hotel staff were nice. I had a hotel facing the beach, was spacious.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff dreadful room

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were wonderful friendly and welcoming. The food in the restaurant for evening meal was really good, nice decor and again wonderful staff. The public rooms were all nicely decorated and clean. The big let diwn is the bedroom. Booked a twin with a sea view got 237 well more view of a block of flats , very small room for 2 people beds almost touch the end wall, so to use the bathroom in the night was a bit like an obstacle course bending round the tv that's very small but is poking out on the wall. The furniture looked like it came from steptoes yard. Bashed and battered but not in a shabby chic way. If we had been staying more than one night we would have refused to sleep there. The price for room only was £110 so certainly not cheap. A real shame because staff, service and food were all excellent. But would never stay there in that sort of room again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old beach hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
Acceptable. Room was so big everything looked out of place and old fashioned taps made having a shower aggravating. But it was clean and proper.