Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Nice Hotel close to shops restaurants etc

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Nice hotel comfortable convenient and a good price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Nice and comfortable hotel close to town, a pleasant stay, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Great location

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Location and price
Cons: The lifts for disabled guests
Location: Festival Place, The Anvil, cinema and places to eat
We chose this hotel because of its location. Close to Festival Place, The Anvil and the Chilli and Cheese Festival this weekend. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfasts were good with very friendly staff. There was plenty of parking but you have to book if you want a disabled space and they are no bigger so had to move my car to get my scooter and wheel chair in / out. There was a wedding reception on Sat night but we were warned of this but the disco finished about 11pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Posted Jun 4, 2017
A stop off on route to hols. Excellent value that included a lovely full English breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

nice hotel but impossible to find hotel car park.

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Centrally located.
The hotel is located in a pedestrian only area. The roads in central Basingstoke are a complex series of one-way streets. We knew exactly where the hotel was but could not get near it by road. We eventually found a short-stay car-park and walked to hotel to ask for directions. After another circuit of the one-way system, we eventually found the correct turn-off. Receptionist was very helpful. Room good. Breakfast OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SW LONDON

Reasonably priced hotel, no complaints

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff.
Cons: Very little.
Location: At top end of town, close to plenty shops, cafes, restaurant. Plenty to do, leaflets aplenty at reception.
Arrived early, no problem. Reception and Housekeeper very helpful, very customer friendly. Settled in room, which met our specifics on booking (no stairs etc). Multiple dining rooms, service or self service, food out of hours, all good. We used their WiFi a good extra. Checkout no fuss at all.
4 out of 5
by Christine

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Very convenient for the town centre
5 out of 5
by Jacki

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Diane

Ideally situated

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
The Red Lion is ideally situated whether you are in Basingstoke for family reasons, shopping or entertainment. It has very friendly and attentive staff and a comfortable sitting room where you can watch the world go by. Parking is also excellent.
2 out of 5
by Mary

To be avoided.

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
The room was substandard and had to be changed. The location in the centre of Basingstoke was not good in that there were a number of apparently drunk, intimidating and threatening people right outside the hotel. This was at 5.30pm!!