Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly welcoming staff

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: See comments above
Location: Great for being in the town centre
Overall positive experience. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The room was fine. My quibbles are fairly small. The room was too hot even with the radiator off; the towel rail in the bathroom was too close to the toilet, so needed a towel put onto it to avoid burning myself (OK when seated); no plug sockets by the bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Well located for restaurants, bars and shops

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Friendly staff, good breakfast. The hotel has a warm and friendly atmosphere. Our room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GOOD POSITION HANDY TO SHOPS AND PLACES TO EAT

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: IT WAS IN A GREAT POSITION AND ALL THE STAFF WERE FRIENDLY HELPFUL AND EFFICIENT, IT HAD A LOVELY HOMELY FEEL.
Cons: THE LIFT, IT IS VERY SMALL IT WAS A SUPERIOR DOUBLE ROOM WE HAD WHICH WE THOUGHT WOULD HAVE HAD MORE SPACE
Location: VERY GOOD LOCATION AS IT IS ON A PEDESTRIANISED STREET FULL OF SHOPS AND THERE IS A SHOPPING CENTRE CLOSEBY
I AM VERY HAPPY WITH MY STAY IN THE RED LION HOTEL
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, dedicated staff

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is a historic listed property, so it comes with all the issues of an old property that cannot be fixed (low water pressure, creaky floors). But the dedicated 5 star staff balances those issues out. The location is in the city center, so it is near to many restaurants and pubs - but be prepared for some noise from outside the hotel from customers exiting the pubs (or ask for a quiet room when checking in). Enjoy the cooked to order breakfasts in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton UK

Very friendly staff at this Hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: Bit awkward to find but close to very large shopping complex & all amenities' of a large town, Close to Anvil venue, Great position for shopping etc
We enjoyed our overnight visit, Staff friendly cheerfull & very helpful Overall a good experience, Noticed a few things, tho. Room was very clean but bad stain on carpet I presume from leaking radiator spoiling an otherwise perfect room. Could have been a better selection of tea/coffee, Only 1 tea & 1 coffee no decaf or fruit tea choice crockery etc clean large kettle. Hair drier bit tatty but worked well. Bathroom lino coming away from side of bath & seemed some sort of lump/old cable or something under it in front of toilet. Shower water preasure a little low but usable, took a bit longer than usual to shower tho temp did remain constant. Plenty of loo roll which makes a change, enjoyed the shower gel & shampoo as I forgot to bring mine. Breakfast fairly average but no complaints, Again good service from polite staff. Definatly would visit again, Makes a Huge difference to be greeted by pleasant happy staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just what was needed

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very reasonably priced and perfectly adequate for what I needed. The bathroom was a little 'old school' but otherwise no complaints. The telly worked fine and the bed was comfortable...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was lovely, staff friendly and helpful. The only downside to our weekend was the location. Because it is situated in central Basingstoke you do get noise well into the early hours from the locals out for a night (early morning) on the town. So it wouldn't be a place to go if you want serenity and sleep. Overall we were quite happy as we had a fair idea what to expect. We would go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Nice Hotel, Town Centre Location

Posted Oct 18, 2016
We had an amazing stay over the weekend. Can get noisy on a Saturday night but with window shut you can not hear anything. Staff were amazing and completed every request fast and with a smile (needed a shower mat and fan). Food was very nice. This hotel was very reasonable and you get lots for the money. Will stay again