Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gut gelegenes Hotel an der Südküste

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: - englische Frühstücksauswahl :)
Gewählt wegen: - Lage in der Nähe der Autobahn, aber in kleiner Stadt mit genügend Distanz - gut erreichbar auch mit spätem Flug wegen 24h Rezeption, bei freier Strecke ~2h von Stansted - ordentliches englisches Frühstück mit Wahlmöglichkeiten - für englische Verhältnisse sehr große (etwas betagte) Zimmer (zumindest im einen Hotelabschnitt), allerdings nicht klassisch englisch wie auf Fotos zu sehen, da aber eh tagsüber unterwegs war viel Platz abends und morgens wichtiger und sehr angenehm - großer Parkplatz hinterm Haus, Einfahrt etwas versteckt, aber mit kurzem Blick auf Street View kein Problem - Points of interest in der Umgebung flott erreichbar: Salisbury ~1h, Bournemouth ~1h, Stonehenge ~1,25h Sonstiges: - freundliches Personal, null Probleme mit irgendwas gehabt, alles schnell und glatt gelaufen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

We used this hotel to visit the Americas Cup

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Car Park, breakfast room and location to station, reception area.
Cons: More lighting for shaving and make up, wider bed ( room is very big and could take it easily) although bed is adequate
Location: 25 minutes from Porstmouth harbour, shopping dining and historic areas, plus sailing events, all by train, costing about £5.75 return adult.
Location about 15 mins from railway which is excellent link to Portsmouth Harbour and Americas cup. Hotel at best end of Fareham, public areas of hotel very pleasant, staff competent and attentive. Breakfast was very good with a lot of choice and some very good fresh fruit. Car park safe and large with barrier access, excellent for use of train into town. Rooms 33 and 34 ground floor, quiet, large, a bit Spartan, lighting levels low, but clean enough, loosely comparable to Premier Inn standard with more space. Overall pretty good value. Negative comments on some reviews a surprise, maybe they thought they could get a Ritz room at this price? Deluded of course! Visit here made Americas cup trip very acceptable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Cons: cooling in rooms
all good except for temperature of room. too hot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shetland Islands

The hotel was nicely central for my visits.

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: The service was good and the food was excellent value.
Cons: The room was a bit basic and 4 flights of stairs was a bit of a struggle with the luggage. A light switch and socket by the bed would have been useful
Location: In a quiet part of the town and central to Portsmouth (20 mins), Gosport (20 mins) and Southampton (30 mins).
I picked the hotel because it was centrally located for my trips to Portsmouth and Southampton. It had plenty of parking to the rear although this wasn't particularly clear in the advertising. The service and food were excellent throughout my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Kamer was netjes en een prima bed en het ontbijt was lekker. Genoeg parkeer plaatsen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Close to shops and pubs

Posted May 26, 2015
Third time booked will book again, very clean and meals are really good value, very good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Weekend get-away

Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with friendly staff & good food. (Breakfast was lovely) Would have liked a bigger TV in the room & could not eat in the restaurant in the evening as it was full, think a couple of tables should be reserved for residents or offered at check-in. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL, USA

A lovely place to stay

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: The room and the building.
Cons: A bit more attention to maintenance details.
Location: There's a bakery across the street and a few small cafes nearby.
The Red Lion is part of the Old English chain of hotels, and lives up to the standard set by this. It's a nice building with good staff and beautiful decor. We greatly enjoyed our stay here, and would absolutely stay here again. The room was very clean, and the bed was cozy. My only real gripe is in the bathroom there was a string of duct tape holding down part of the counter, which was unfortunate. Everything else was quite well kept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Red Lion Fareham

Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
The room was mainly comfortable, but an extra 'armchair' would have saved my husband and I from having to take it in turns to sit in the one comfortable chair in the room! The staff were pleasant and helpful, but it would have been useful if we had been told when given our key, how to lock the door when going out. The only other problem was being two floors up with no lift. Carrying cases up so many stairs was rather exhausting....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Has the basics.

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
A one night stay on business. It had all the basics one needs. Clean bed, hot shower etc. The bedroom was ok, but the bathroom needs renovation. Luckily, i didnt pay too much or stay too long, so not too disapointed. Breakfast was nice if a bit lacking for vegetarian options.