Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reading

Great

Posted Apr 15, 2017
The best hotel ever, friendly staff, nice environment, beautiful nature, great food , I can't find anything to complain about. We had a great and relaxing holiday.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Wonderful hotel in a beautiful location.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: The staff were polite, friendly and went that extra mile to be helpful. The building is spectacular, beautiful wood carvings.
Cons: There is a problem with the running of the restaurants, we could not put our finger on it but it is probably a shortage of kitchen staff.
Location: The location in the centre of the New Forest is wonderful, ideal for walking. We went to Exbury Gardens and had a wonderful few hours.
We chose this historic hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary as this was an area we had not visited for many years. We were greeted warmly at reception, assisted with our luggage to our room and the tea/coffee making equipment was pointed out together with the fridge and the fresh milk. The room was large and comfortable overlooking the swimming pool and both the bedroom and bathroom were clean, although the drawers were difficult to open and close. We had time to spare before dinner and went for a walk in the grounds as it was a lovely afternoon. We were disappointed in the condition of the gardens, felt they needed more attention and the grass needed cutting. We had pre-booked our meal at the Grill and when we arrived there were only two tables of two occupied, the dinning room having just opened. I chose sea bass and the waiter had to check there was a portion left, there was, but the following diners were disappointed as not only was there no bass but no cod either, when it came to the dessert they had run out of ice cream too. We felt that just serving salad and salsa was limited and there was only one waiter on duty for the majority of the evening. On the second evening were ate in the main dinning room and were seated in the bar where we chose our food whilst having a drink. We were shown to our table and enjoyed the food immensely the only problem being a wait of at least half an hour for our main course, the staff did apologise but it did spoil the experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Luxury hotel in the New Forest

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: The setting
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Excellent base for walking in the New Forest.
A short overnight stay with friends was very good. The rooms were excellent, the evening meal was fantastic and the staff were very professional and friendly. Things sadly went downhill at breakfast the following morning, a lot of little things - no smoked salmon, no white toast, pineapple juice being served instead of grapefruit juice, service very slow, particularly when more coffee and toast was requested. The English breakfasts were cold and overcooked - but my kipper was fantastic! A shame, but it wouldn't stop any of us going back for a second visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex, UK

A very good hotel in delightful surroundings

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: The staff and their very high standards.
Cons: The level of communication with guests when the Guest Wi-Fi failed for the whole of our stay (the fault of their supplier and not the hotel).
Location: In the heart of the New Forest. Plenty of places to see and visit within, say, 20 miles - apart from the Forest itself of course.
I had visited this hotel several times on business before retirement, and could tell that it was a cut above the normal. Well organised and with impeccable staff, it would be difficult to find anywhere better. Not the cheapest but definitely very good value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Expedia
The indoor swimming pool not operational and there was no wifi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Few Days in the New Forest!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Our room and its initial appearance !
Cons: An update, staff and their training ?
I had already written a full report and it deleted my prose - perhaps system not liking my report so deleted it !!! - and cannot be bothered re writing it.......but now briefly pleasant stay but overall disappointed with quality in hotel, staff and in my opinion restaurant over rates itself - poor first meal, very nice second meal, no sommelier and staff pleasant but inadequately trained or supervised.....which we believed went right through staffing....all very pleasant and trying their best, but something just did not click for us and difficult to put finger on it - had to come from management ?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand but relaxed

Posted Mar 4, 2017
The hotel and grounds are beautiful. Good selection of dining options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Nice bedroom but the public areas are tired and need some money spending on them. Could be so much nicer
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Valentine get away

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Gorgeous setting, reservation lost but receptionist exceptional and brought complimentary champagne to room - her customer service was outstanding. Hotel a little tired, bit disjointed, not many areas to sit and relax, but pleasant.
5 out of 5
by Rish from North London

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely stay for my parents 40th anniversary. Good service, beautiful grounds. Enjoyed an outdoor swim too.