Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

great for a 2/3 night stay

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: staff and rooms
Cons: breakfast , and the gym and spa are small
Location: fantastic location for walks and activities such as pony riding and archery and generally in the heart of the new forest
we arrived as a big family and were dealt with superbly on check in …rooms were very good . Staff were very friendly and helpful , breakfast was average and the evening dining experience was ok without being anything to write home about . The gym and spa are small Overall this is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting but maybe hanging on to its 4 star status by a thread
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, beautiful spot in the new forest. The service was a little slow in the bar but otherwise fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Great hotel in the middle of the forest

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: Location..
Cons: Service where food is served at points absolutely dreadful....
Location: Isle of Wight, Dorset, forest, loads to do and see
Beautiful location, spotlessly clean, well appointed. Helpful staff..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Colm from London

Beautiful hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel itself is very beautiful and located ideally for those looking for a forest walk or just a secluded stroll. There were two issues with our stay. There was no hot water at all from late in the evening until the mid morning however the hotel staff dealt with the issues very positively and offered a free night stay by way of compensation. The food from the Grill restaurant was over priced and to my mind very tasteless. This needs to be improved! The overall ambiance of the hotel is lovely and very old world. We also enjoyed the afternoon tea which is to be recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from Christchurch, New Zealand

Great hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
We had a great stay at this hotel Although a little of the main road it is certainly worth a visit Very friendly staff and a nice old estate property We recommend this property
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
Everything perfect, They obviously have an ongoing, unavoidable problem with wasps in the garden. Even though it was a glorious day afternoon tea was spoiled. We had to take it inside . Swarms of wasps everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anders from Göteborg

Super!

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastisk miljö och sagolikt gammalt hotel. Lite slitet men väl kompenserat av miljö och bemötande av personal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Well located to explore the New FOrest
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels