Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

nice hotel in glorious setting

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: lovely surroundings, nice rooms and a lovely outdoor pool.
Cons: the food
Location: close to Lyndhurst, Brockenhurst and Burley. Stunning countryside with good walks and horse riding, lovely area to stay in
Just back from three nights. Overall good, but not a great culinary experience. The first night we ate in the grill. My husband's steak was small and mediocre, just grilled and plain. I had loin of cod which was literally the size of a matchbox. We both had salad which was a very small handful of what look like supermarket mixed leaves..,no dressing, just limp leaves on a plate.. portion sizes seem to vary hugely....some other diners also complained about the size of portions and poor salad. The next night we ate in the restaurant..tasty food but again inconsistent portion sizes ... depending on your luck it felt like famine or feast... the food is expensive for what you get ( or don't get) we went to the pub the third night and had a delicious steak for half the price including salad and veg, we'll go back to the hotel but probably wont eat there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Wonderful break, staff so friendly!

Posted May 16, 2017
A great weekend break. Service, hotel and facilities exceptional. Food was amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Lovely hotel perfect in the new forest

Posted May 7, 2017
Very relaxing nice pool to swim in, lovely walks around hotel. Amazing drive up to the hotel in the new forest with deer and rabbits walking around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harpenden

Peaceful location in the New Forest

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Peaceful location
Cons: Separating room booking if possible when not super busy.
Location: In the heart of the New Forest with all it has to offer.
We enjoyed our 2 night mid-week stay very much, although we didnt get to use many of the facilities e.g. the pool etc, our fault entirely and no fault of the hotel or staff. We ate both nights in the grill room, both meals were more than acceptable and the waiting staff were very good, tbh service was a little slow on the first night but as we were on holiday it didnt matter too much, service was much quicker on the second night, but not to the point of feeling rushed. The bed was comfortable and the room spacious, but why oh why do ALL hotels divide rooms with what must be paper thin walls. The room was more than big enough to have had proper sound proof walls constructed and this would have aided getting a good night's sleep as we could hear next door coughing most of the night and baby' crying. I really wish I didnt have to add the last bit but facts are facts and it seems ALL hotels are prone to this, not just Rhinefield. The hotel didnt feel particularly full so maybe they could separate bookings and not put guests in adjoining rooms unless they have to, again maybe all hotels could do this when not fully booked. It might make life easier for the hotel to book guests in close proximity to each other but this is less enjoyable for the guests as I am sure next door would have heard our TV etc just as much as we heard them. Shame because other than the noise issue we really had a nice time and would recommend Rhinefield as a good place to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location peaceful grounds

Posted Apr 29, 2017
We had a very enjoyable 2 night midweek break.The grounds were very pleasant to walk around the room was comfortable,the fitness suite was enjoyable. Overall our stay was pleasant. Our only disappointment was a grill bar sandwich which was a let down however this was a small issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reading

Great

Posted Apr 15, 2017
The best hotel ever, friendly staff, nice environment, beautiful nature, great food , I can't find anything to complain about. We had a great and relaxing holiday.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Wonderful hotel in a beautiful location.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: The staff were polite, friendly and went that extra mile to be helpful. The building is spectacular, beautiful wood carvings.
Cons: There is a problem with the running of the restaurants, we could not put our finger on it but it is probably a shortage of kitchen staff.
Location: The location in the centre of the New Forest is wonderful, ideal for walking. We went to Exbury Gardens and had a wonderful few hours.
We chose this historic hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary as this was an area we had not visited for many years. We were greeted warmly at reception, assisted with our luggage to our room and the tea/coffee making equipment was pointed out together with the fridge and the fresh milk. The room was large and comfortable overlooking the swimming pool and both the bedroom and bathroom were clean, although the drawers were difficult to open and close. We had time to spare before dinner and went for a walk in the grounds as it was a lovely afternoon. We were disappointed in the condition of the gardens, felt they needed more attention and the grass needed cutting. We had pre-booked our meal at the Grill and when we arrived there were only two tables of two occupied, the dinning room having just opened. I chose sea bass and the waiter had to check there was a portion left, there was, but the following diners were disappointed as not only was there no bass but no cod either, when it came to the dessert they had run out of ice cream too. We felt that just serving salad and salsa was limited and there was only one waiter on duty for the majority of the evening. On the second evening were ate in the main dinning room and were seated in the bar where we chose our food whilst having a drink. We were shown to our table and enjoyed the food immensely the only problem being a wait of at least half an hour for our main course, the staff did apologise but it did spoil the experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Luxury hotel in the New Forest

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: The setting
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Excellent base for walking in the New Forest.
A short overnight stay with friends was very good. The rooms were excellent, the evening meal was fantastic and the staff were very professional and friendly. Things sadly went downhill at breakfast the following morning, a lot of little things - no smoked salmon, no white toast, pineapple juice being served instead of grapefruit juice, service very slow, particularly when more coffee and toast was requested. The English breakfasts were cold and overcooked - but my kipper was fantastic! A shame, but it wouldn't stop any of us going back for a second visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex, UK

A very good hotel in delightful surroundings

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: The staff and their very high standards.
Cons: The level of communication with guests when the Guest Wi-Fi failed for the whole of our stay (the fault of their supplier and not the hotel).
Location: In the heart of the New Forest. Plenty of places to see and visit within, say, 20 miles - apart from the Forest itself of course.
I had visited this hotel several times on business before retirement, and could tell that it was a cut above the normal. Well organised and with impeccable staff, it would be difficult to find anywhere better. Not the cheapest but definitely very good value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Expedia
The indoor swimming pool not operational and there was no wifi.