Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Super terrific staff and nice remodel! Good value.

Posted May 18, 2017
The staff was super friendly and accommodating. We were in the very top floor and our room was hot at night so the desk clerk immediately brought up a fan and adjusted the windows and it all cooled right off. Nice remodel and very clean. Breakfast was terrific and the wait staff was energetic and amiable! Would recommend to anyone. If you have big heavy bags, you might ask to not be on the top floor, haha! Convenient to train. And not far from Chawton & Jane Austen's house.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from suffolk

Good parking centre of town.

Posted May 10, 2017
Very nice stay .would say that the breakfast was good .only complaint would be the doors slamming when people come in late or go out early .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel. Perfect for business use.

Posted May 6, 2017
I stayed here at the Swan Thursday night for Business as it was close for work. The hotel is perfect as it has everything under 1 roof. After a busy day it's nice just to be able to pop downstairs for dinner and the same for breakfast the following morning. The staff were extremely helpful and did everything to help. I would go back just because they made me feel so welcome. The room was perfect for me. Great shower and comfortable bed. It was also quiet which was nice. Not 5* but had everything I needed. I will be back when I'm working in the area again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Newly refurbished hotel with very comfortable rooms and good facilities. The night was quiet and breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
by Chris

5 out of 5

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Really couldn't fault it. Newly refurbished, good sized room, easy parking.
5 out of 5
by Philip

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BN14

One night at The Swan

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: The friendliness and the comfort of the room. Very central which was good.
Cons: The car park was used by the general public as well as the hotel, so parking was quite difficult. This might have been made more difficult by parking
Location: Very good location in the centre of the town and many places of interest to visit not far from Alton.
The hotel was being refurbished but the manager couldn't have been more helpful. Beautiful room recently completed, all the facilities, clean, warm and very comfortable. Would certainly stay there again. Breakfast freshly cooked and very good.
5 out of 5
by Ian

My Favourite Hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
The Swan is a proper Hotel! Excellent service Great staff, fantastic food! Currently having a refurb but I loved it before the refurb! In truth though The Refurb is very nice and I have stayed in one of the new rooms. I can not say anything negative about The Swan it is and always will be one of my Favourite hotels!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West of England

Building site

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: On this occasion nothing our whole visit was ruined by lack of facilities. I felt sorry for the staff no management available.
Cons: It should have been closed while being renovated and we should have been told when booking that facilities were not available.
Location: Luckily there was a Weatherspoon's 10 minute walk away to get dinner in the evening.
Hotel was in process of being renovated we were not told this when we booked,there was no restaurant and we had booked B&B. The reception area was thick with dust you could write your name in the dust and there was a strong smell of paint and varnish. We were told the café across the road would provide breakfast at a discounted rate. It was closed when we arrived on Saturday afternoon and did not open on Sunday for breakfast which we were not informed of until we came down for breakfast. The room we were allocated smelt of dust and paint, after complaining we were offered a refurbished room that had a strong smell of new paint but was comfortable, window could not be opened which did not help. It was to late in the day to find another hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
It was under construction even from early Sunday morning and although it was advertised with a breakfast the bar and restaurant did not exist good luck to them in the future but right now and for the next month only desperation should land you at their doorstep