Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Swan Hotel, Alton Hants

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: It was very handy for visiting our relatives who live in the town centre. Close to a handy mini-market and only a short walk from the railway station.
Cons: Overall cleanliness (especially the windows) and decor (a bit tired).
Location: N/A
The on-line pictures do not reflect the actual condition of the hotel. Everywhere was a little bit tatty or grubby. In particular the secondary glazing on the rooms windows would have benefitted from some sort of cleaning. Creaking floorboards, especially in our room failed to add to the charm of the building, but became a real annoyance. The promised Wi-Fi in each room did not appear to be working which although not necessary was frustrating. On the plus side the food was excellent, with a great value evening meal and a good "full English" the following morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 24, 2016
駅から近く、値段が安かったため、部屋の古さなどは少し気になりましたが、可愛らしいホテルで全体的に十分に満足のいく滞在でした 一つ言うならばホテルにエレベーターがなく、子供を連れて荷物を運ぶのが大変でした
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine for a night but does need some updating

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Staff very helpful, and a good breakfast!
Cons: Décor in room, bathroom.
I agree with previous reviews that the hotel does need a bit of an update. The facilities were good but the bathroom was old fashioned and the curtains etc were tatty. We were also woken up in the middle of the night by a couple having a screaming argument outside, which didn't leave us with a great night's sleep or a good impression! However, the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. We asked for an earlier check-in as we would be travelling for several hours to a wedding in the area which started before check-in, and we were really pleased that this could be accommodated. There was a mix-up with the payment (I requested payment to be taken when I booked it, but it was not taken at the time) and although it would have been useful for this to be communicated in advance, the staff were very helpful when sorting this out and working out what had happened.
1 out of 5
by Thomas from Powys

Very poor

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
Possibly one of the worst hotel experiences I’ve had, certainly at this price level. Being given the wrong room key at check-in and only finding out having got to our room on the very top floor including negotiating a very narrow staircase was a . The sloping bedroom floor and the totally loose over-bed lampshades with scorch marks where they had leant against the bulb were worrying. The sink cold tap showed obvious signs of repair but still required Herculean strength to operate. The bath cold tap was similarly immobile and we had to call the manager while trying to run a bath. The cheapest flimsiest toilet seat I have ever seen didn't match the shaped toilet. Most worrying of all was the overflow INTO THE BATH whenever the toilet was flushed!! Breakfast was slow, waiting staff were generally inefficient and obviously lacked aptitude or training. Diners orders taken out of order caused obvious irritation. Toast was never offered. Room temperature beans. The Thermos jug (they only have one) of vaguely warm coffee was "broken" which meant staff had to serve every individual cup, so re-fills were a near impossibility with the "dump and run" blinkered staff. The coffee jug was returned by staff to the servery empty so the next member of staff was unable to serve when asked but had to return to the kitchen. The table next to us had no cups. Our table had pepper but no salt. Orange juice ran out. Simple stuff...but so much of it was poor. As for the plumbing....possibly illegal !!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from from BC Canada

A piece of history that keeps adding on.

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Booked in for two nights. The first day I was led up and down and through a narrow maze to a small quaint room on the top floor. No elevator or lift here, but that wouldn't help here as over the years (and not recently) the rooms have been added onto but updated. Felt a bit claustrophobic as it only had a sky light but there was a fan. I requested a new room. The second room was a bit larger and had a window. The beds were comfy and the free breakfast offered was delish. The town of Elton was a step back in English charm that this Canadian enjoyed. The hotel is a bit of a walk to the train station but the taxi service was quick and because of the rain was appreciated.
3 out of 5
by Karen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Diana from Canada

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel hallways very run down and numerous levels to get to our room floors very even level. Not good for older people and no elevator. Breakfast was very good got to order from menu and was included with our accommodation . Grocery store across the street.
4 out of 5
by David from Bournemouth

Convenient and comfortable for gliding course.

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
I was staying in Alton while doing a 5 day gliding course at Lasham. The hotel was only a 20 minute drive away. The hotel was comfortable, with friendly, helpful staff and a good restaurant. Also very good value for money.
4 out of 5
by Lars

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
Godt hotel til virkelig fin pris
4 out of 5
by Therese from Oslo

Historisk og knirkete, med god mat

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
Gammelt hotell med knirkete gulv og masse historie i veggene. Rom vendt mot High street, men det var ikke spesielt bråkete av den grunn. Hører naboens knirkete gulv meget godt. Personalet hyggelig nok, men de mangler litt på service og stresser på feil måte. Han som viste meg hvor rommet var (mange trapper og smale ganger)holdt ikke en gang dørene oppe for meg som bar bagasjen selv. Maten i restauranten var veldig engelsk, med smeltet cheddar og bacon på nesten alt. Frokosten hadde standard utvalget i buffet, men også en liten meny hvor du hadde flere valg for varmmat.