Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice enough

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Good location to explore Hampshire from
Cons: Rooms could be updated a little i.e. bathroom light turns on fan, and once the lights are turned off the fan runs for about 15minutes... not so great
We had a good stay - the room was nice, but very hot (we stayed in September and it was incredibly warm in the room overnight) and there is no air conditioning. Knowing this, I would stay again but not in summer as it would effect my comfort. Staff were a little indifferent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffol

Good overnight stop for a Portsmouth cross channel

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: A good restaurant with typical English pub fare, at at a reasonable price. No insidious extras. A very fair deal for uk. Clean, welcoming, pub food.
Cons: Not sure how you combat road noise,
Location: One overnight stay on way to Ferry only.
Welcoming very olde English hotel with bricks and beams. We were given a back room but still found the road noisy .
5 out of 5
by Stephen from Wakefield

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
stay here every year when I visit my sister. nice,clean hotel and no problems
3 out of 5
by andrew from Colchester

Unfortunately no WiFi on the day

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Disappointing that the Free WiFi was not working the afternoon\ evening I stayed for 1 night on business - as wanted to get some work done! No real apology from the hotel or offer of anything as a "sorry". Even a free drink would have been nice - or pointing out where the nearest place to sit with a laptop and WiFi was. Overall - a pub with rooms. All things were OK. Clean, etc etc.
4 out of 5
by RONALD from Camberwell

Nice place in countryside

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were very helpful - allowing us to book in early as we were preparing for a wedding.
3 out of 5
by John

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant staff. Walls thin. Avoid quiet times for carvery.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Leicester

Would recommend

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Nice comfy lodge, would recommend staying if you are in the area with nice bar & restaurant serving good food
4 out of 5
by Bruce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Eric from METZ

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Séjour très agréable de 3 jours (2 nuits). Base de départ pour visiter Portsmouth et Winchester. Repas du soir en buffet chaud ou à la carte. Excellent rapport qualité prix de l'ordre de 90 livres par jour pour un couple en demi pension Hôteliers extrêmement sympathiques.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
Great value and very relaxed atmosphere