Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Ramon, California

Nice quaint hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
I judge a hotel by its bar. Lovely room. Excrement staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The room was very comfortable and well appointed - we were in a recently updated room. Walking distance to Cricketer's pub. Lovely breakfast.
Cons: Check if you need easy shower access as some rooms have shower over bath. Menu for dinner very limited, especially if you don't eat meat
Location: Walking distance to Cricketer's pub and easy drive to Leggoland and New Forrest.
Really enjoyed the ambience - very English, and we really felt at home.
3 out of 5
by Peter

Good but not great to sleep in..

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
Place was great if you just want a room, if you want to sleep also you'll need to make sure that your away from the main reception area, on a night I stayed they swapped over the breakfast area at 1 in the morning until 3 and decided to do it to dance music, this meant it wasn't ideal for a nights sleep. Also despite the restaurant claiming to be a marco pierre white one, the food isn't great and I really wouldn't recommend. On the plus side the staff couldn't be friendlier!!
1 out of 5
by Colm

Not unless you're really stuck

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible from start to finish. Not remotely charming. Staff ok but not giving of any warmth.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
Stay was fine. No complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016
Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you again.
4 out of 5
by Gary

check out issues

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Check out was very annoying. We had paid in advance for the booking some 8 months beforehand. However we were told we had to pay for the room despite me having evidence on me that the room was all paid for. The lady at reception kept telling me I was wrong which was very embarrassing in a busy reception as I was having to argue my point. Only when her manager intervened did this get resolved but even then there was no apology. It was a shame as the hotel was very nice but this left a sour taste.
2 out of 5
by Clare

Never again

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Booked 6 rooms for myself and some of my colleagues whilst on a business trip to Reading, we arrived to check in at the hotel at around 630pm to 7pm and were given our keys. The rooms allocated to our group were pretty much in a re-fitted old basement area of the hotel, to access the route took you along narrow corridors and down steep stairs. The view from the window was of a tall embankment upon top of which was the car park !! needless to say with the heavy rain we are having of late the room felt a little damp and was dark and stuffy. I went to reception to see if i could change my rooms but was told that as we had checked in late there was no other availability left, i would have understood this but i booked all 6 rooms over 2 weeks in advance of the date and so i would have thought should have been pre-allocated. The rooms do appear to have been recently re-furbished but this is just window dressing and a poor show of it at that in my opinion, the design and style of which did not fit with the rest of the hotel at all. The Wheelers restaurant on site looked ok from the menu and wasnt too pricey, but the windows looked grubby and the furniture basic so we chose to eat at the pub next door instead I read a range of reviews on hotel choices in the area prior to making this booking and selected the Casa due to some of the other visitor ratings, however how someone can refer to it as a 'Home from Home' is beyond me !! I would not stay here again
4 out of 5
by Martin from Northampton

overnight for business

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
All ok for my reason for selecting this hotel. Just need to be aware carpark at entrance to hotel has a height restriction on leaving, if like me in a large van then use the overflow/addional carpark
5 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very good overall excellent