Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing bath

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Bathtub
Cons: Some appliances on the bathtub were a bit loose and fell off
Location: Shopping centre with spinnaker tower, castle, coast
Great hotel, so cute, you wouldn't think from outside that it is a hotel. It has the best bathtub I've ever seen! Breakfast was really nice, a proper menu, very individual and not the standard boring breakfast buffet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Stay

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Location: Near the sea front at Southsea. A 15-30 minutes drive to the ferry port depending on the time of day/traffic.
Nice hotel with a well presented room. The staff were very helpful. Breakfast was excellent and very filling.
5 out of 5
by Mr Dennis from High Wycombe

Great Hotel - sham about the door handle.

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was great except there was one problem with the door to the toilet in bedroom 6. The handle on the door is small and round. Therefore, it is without much rotational leverage and the spring on the door catch is stiff. As a result my wife couldn't open this door and I could only open it will difficulty. The relatively small round door handle may look right from a looks point of view but it is impractical as a means of opening the door. You need to change it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Paul from Portsmouth

A LITTLE GEM

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
the staff where fantastic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by DEREK from Nottingham

Call me old fashioned ....

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice (boutique)hotel , impressive decor etc but...... didn't realise till after i had booked it there was no shower , only a bath and when the lady at the hotel opened the room door ...... A BATH AT THE END OF THE BED ,SUNKEN ....mmmm . Call me a old fuddy duddy but bath in bathroom and give me a shower..., getting up for work the following morning and running a bath kiltered my kelder. Breakfast very nice but how about a bit of low radio or tv in the background ?, i listened to a bloke burping and picking his teeth. 6/10
5 out of 5
by Emma-Lee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west sussex

Boutique hotel ideal for access to gun wharf quays

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed an overnight stay at this charming hotel. Staff were helpful , off street parking was a bonus. Beautiful room and luxurious bathroom only slightly marred by the air heating system which was a little noisy at night but not warm enough to turn off ! Great breakfast. Would recommend and looking forward to trying out another of the sister hotels next time we escape !
5 out of 5
by Paul from London

Great little find in Southsea

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
I stay at the Clarence now regulatory for business. Tucked away in a little side street right near the seafront in Southsea, it's a gem. The rooms have been exceptionally decorated, and the bathrooms particularly are superb (stay in room 5 which has the spa bath for a treat!). Large screen TVs, comfortable beds, good wifi hookup, all make the stay comfortable. Breakfast is also excellent. The service is friendly, and helpful. Hotel is a short walk (10mins) from the restaurants in Palmerston Road. Fun a Wharf is a bus ride away. Sea front is great for waking/running or just taking in the sea air. Would recommend this hotel highly