Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, Uk

ARRIVED LATE, LEFT EARLY BUT ENJOYED EVERY MINUTE

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Meal, the beer and staff
Cons: Shower controls were a bit strange but there was an explanation.
Location: Close to where I needed to be early in the morning. This is worth a detour - ideal for New Forest, Southampton port and airport or just a nice evening
I arrived just in time to have an excellent meal in the bar, chosen from a wide and varied menu with some daily specials. Local beer also won my approval. Room was spacious, clean and well provided for in terms of facilities, large towels. Staff very friendly and helpful - plenty of parking
4 out of 5
by Anthony from Mouilleron St Germain France

Friendly Hotel in a good location

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
Nice Hotel & Location. Very friendly staff. Good food and a hearty breakfast in the morning. Beautiful surroundings although a busy main road runs by the front.
4 out of 5
by mark

Pleasant stay

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
Would have been 5 out of 5 but mattress was way too soft for me. Could suit some.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego, Ca

Nice quiet community, close to Winchester.

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Quiet, clean, friendly.
Location: Rural location, warmer weather, close to Winchester.
Hotel staff were accommodating, and friendly. Best chips ever, nice breakfast.
5 out of 5
by david

Excellent

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent place to stay Very helpful staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
Nice overall appearance, standard and service (staff very friendly and nice), but the little details just took the edge off an otherwise good stay. For example, nice big bathroom and nice looking downpour type shower head but the water was cold. Food was nice and service good. Had both and evening meal and cooked breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Nicholas from Spalding

Warm welcome to a cold room

Posted Dec 12, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely pub in a modern refurb style. Very warm welcome to a very cold room. The Brown Falcon room is a single over looking the road and pub entrance. It has single glazing so I was glad to have brought ear plugs. The room radiator was on but wasn't effective - only just warm to touch on places. Consequently the room was too cold. Much to cold. The large ensuite had a bath and over shower, but the sealed plastic floor had peeled away from all walls. The batteries were flat in the Tv remote and there were no instructions on how to use the wifi. Breakfast was top quality but to be honest I couldn't wait to get in my car and warm up
4 out of 5
by John from Australia

Village hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel suitable for two day stay while visiting Winchester. Good evening meals.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely and characterful pub hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely refurbished room, friendly staff, very dog friendly, good food but pricey and not great for vegetarians (didn't even bother to put a main course option on the menu).