Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by gary from Consett co durham

Would stay again

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels
Small issue with room. Swiftly rectified very pleasant couple in charge
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Emsworth, Hampshire

Faulty Towers

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Toilet roll holder fell off the wall, shower dripped all night and did not work at all. We were unaware of a band playing that night, which was loud so difficult to sleep. it is more like a motel than hotel with no access to the pub or reception. breakfast was agreed for 7.45am but no one turned up until 8.00am, leaving us waiting in the cold on the street outside the pub!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Fantastic Home Away from Home

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Shower and Margaret.
Location: You need a car to get there. Not far from Beaulieu Auto Museum and Palace. Fantastic place to go.
What a great place to stay. Margaret was so friendly and so were her staff. We spent 2 nights there and we felt at home right away. Home cooked meals were amazing. The shower was the best in England and most of Europe. Good size rooms and large bathroom with towel warmer. Tea & coffee with yummy biscuits in room. If you need a hair dryer just ask Margaret or her wonderful staff. When we left we got a great big hug from Margaret. Great English hospitality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

one night stay

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: cheap and the rooms were clean
Cons: return my shirt!
Location: went into Salsbury in the evening to eat very nice city and worth a visit.
rooms are small but clean staff helpful, dinner menu uninspiring, breakfast ok but poor service, By accident I left a shirt in the wardrobe on my departure, tried to contact the hotel by phone and e mail to arrange return but no response sadly! so overall disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to the new forest and major trunk roads

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: olde worldy,plenty of character
Cons: breakfast menu, and choice, no staff present apart from the chef, who was polite and helpful
Location: too close to the road very noisey
on arrival we were welcomed by staff who then showed us the room, very polite and answered any questions we had.room was small but clean and tidy with a good shower, bed was very comfy and we would have had a good nights sleep but the noise of the neverending traffic put paid to that
3 out of 5
by Jan from Australia

Quaint but very noisy

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels
This is a very old, quaint tudor building and the room has been renovated to an excellent standard BUT the noise level is terrible. Between the continual traffic outside the window passing through at 40mph and the other guests roaming around on squeaky floor boards it was a pretty sleepless night. The quality of the evening meal was poor value, salad with no dressing, exactly 1/2 a plate of chips with the sausages and no white wine available at all. Breakfast was fresh and good.
5 out of 5
by Linda from Northwood

Clean, welcoming and friendly

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels
Had a wonderful few nights at The Shoe Inn which is now under new management. The room was clean, fresh towels every day, lovely breakfast and friendly pub dog!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from huddersfield

Nice accommodation but close to busy road.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Good breakfast and pleasant staff.
Location: More of a stop over on the way to the New Forest than a destination.
Very pleasant and welcoming staff. Good food and a pleasant comfortable room. Pub is on a very busy road though. Our room was round the back so was quite quiet but it could be noisy if staying at the front.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leigh on Sea Essex

Beautiful Inn

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Stayed overnight for visit to the New Forest...friendly and helpful staff...food was excellent ...great Saturday evening entertainment with a Soul singer...would highly recommend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels