Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales

Friendly & welcoming

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Friendly, comfortable & excellent food.
Location: Ideal for visiting Beaulieu & the New Forest
Sarah & Andy the owners of the Shoe Inn are very friendly & welcoming. Andy is an excellent Chef, the menu was more varied & something a little different from normal pub food & was delicious. The room was clean & comfortable. The location is ideal for visiting the New Forest. Sarah & Andy have only owned the Shoe Inn since January but certainly deserve to do well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philippines 🇵🇭

We're very well looked after

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Hotel room is clean & tidy. Has the basic things that you need. Lady staff was so friendly, and we were very well looked after by the time we checked in and during breakfast. We'll definitely come back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Anyone wanting to stay near Wellow Don't stay here you have to go outside the public house to get to your room which is on a heavy traffic road the staff were unfriendly and the room was not ready . I went with my 84 year old mother and we decided not to stay we lost our money
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

traditional

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
I really liked this place. The rooms are nice,modern,comfortable and clean. There's a great traditional pub downstairs which serves some really nice food and everyone seems really friendly. They also have a fair sized car park without any height restrictions (good for vans) directly facing the hotel/pub. I'm not sure what's in the local area but there is a BP petrol station about 100yds up the road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Crowborough,East Sussex

close to all areas of New Forest

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: comfort and location
Cons: would be nice if the noise from the main road could be muted
Location: on the northern edge of the New Forest and within easy reach of major towns in the area
A very nice inn room was very comfortable the only downside of note is that with the inn adjacent to the busy A36 it was quite noisy in the rooms at the front of the inn but other than that was a terrific place to stay food and drink excellent and the staff were great would definitely recommend to friends and is close to all areas of the New Forest.
1 out of 5
by Mark from London

hotel.com ...... Terrible

Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels
Thanks to hotel.com who booked us into a hotel that was not even open and was clearly not as advertised. Horrendous customer service made this stay a waste of time .....I'm left out of pocket financially with no remorse from hotel.com
3 out of 5
by a m from eastleigh

Ok - nothing to write home about.

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
The overall experience of this Inn, was ok. Upon arrival, there is no clear car park. So we parked on a gravel area adjacent to the building. There was no clear check in area, so we asked at the main bar. We were then taken back outside, and up a steep set of stairs. The room was quite tight, but adequate. It was clean, fresh with tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom was ok. The room in a whole was ok, nothing fancy, but everything you needed it to be. There was food available in the bar, but all they did was carvery. By the looks of it, it was there for some time. The potatoes were dry, the meat was dry, and the veg looked over done. What we got was edible, and far from the best carvery we had ever had. We also had breakfast in the morning, this was much better, it was not quite a "full" English breakfast, as it was missing sausages, but it was cooked fresh, and much better than a visit to McDonald's. The staff, well, we only really had experience of one member of staff, although i didnt get her name, she was very helpful. showing us to our room, and ensuring all our needs were met. My only main concern was, the road is less than 2ft from the edge of the building, and the cars/vans and trucks are travelling at 40mph! Would i visit again, unfortunately not, it was ok, but there are much better places out there, as the lack of good quality food, esp of an evening, really did put me off.
5 out of 5
by Jason from ISLE OF WIGHT

ENJOYABLE STAY

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels
stayed one night on business, friendly staff and immaculate room. There is quite a lot of traffic noise from the A36,but this is NOT THE FAULT OF THE HOTEL OR PUBLICAN !!!!!. I would recommend this B&B.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels
Business trip
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels