Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good value for a hotel close to cruise terminals

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Room condition, lobby comfort.
Location: Very close to city center and the malls.
Staff were great and very helpful. Room was warm and in order to get some air the windows opened but let in many flies. A large fan was kindly supplied but the condition of the room and hotel need a refresh. The lifts were awkward since they required carrying suitcases up several stairs no matter which floor you pressed. Not for those with mobility problems. Still a bargain for being so close to the cruise terminal and a short walk to the pedestrian center of town/shops/ food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap & Cheerful

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Some superb pubs/bars and restaurants in the area
Booked the hotel for a night before sailing on the Brittannia on first sight we were greeted with scaffolding due to the front of the hotel being painted. Parked car in car park (£4.00) and went into hotel, very dated needs an overhaul, friendly staff. Floors very creaky, got to room and again needs updating, bed and linen very clean, once again bathroom needs updating. Didn't eat in hotel so cannot comment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Prime location in South Hampton

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Cons: Request room with elevator access during the booking process.
Location: Walled city, lots of history. Great for photography with the old building. Good for Walking. Only there one night. Not enough time to explore
Location is excellent. Hotel in the historic district. Walked the walled city. Plenty of places to eat nearby. Breakfast not included. Perfect location to catch a cruise ship. Shopping close by for forgotten items. Elevators only go to 3rd floor, we were on the 4th. Lots of stairs. They stored our extra luggage on the ground floor. No air conditioning if it gets too hot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2015
Room very old fashioned. Awful wallpaper and curtains. Bed is far to squishy. No extractor fan in the bathroom. Windows not double glazed, so can hear all cars outside and planes overhead. Room was so far away from main reception the Wifi didn't work in my room. Actual key to get in to room and you have to place key at reception every time you leave. No sockets next to the bed. Not worth £50 for my stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Run down cheap hotel

Posted May 5, 2015
Peeling paint, mismatched carpet, paper thin walls(I could literally hear the person beside me breathing through the wall), okay breakfast. Nothing in the vicinity of the hotel to help redeem it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by simon from birmingham

need some tlc to doors and rooms a lick of paint

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
on the main road so will have some street noise,i had the family room massive room with 4.could do with an on -suite in large room..dated and needs s lick of paint here and there on doors,,,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Charles from Nîmes

Star Hotel Southampton

Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant staff. Nice, if slightly small room. Not much water pressure in the shower. Very well placed in the town centre. Secure carpark (but at extra cost), and on a first come first served basis.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Trevor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shrijit from Brighton

Cheap and almost cheerful....

Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
We were looking for a cheap night's stay and The Star came our way. Looking at the reviews, we knew it would be just about the right choice. The hotel building etc is superb but due to lack of TLC, it looks pretty sad. The staff at the reception was not rude but it seems they did very long hours. The room itself was pretty good. I don't complain to stay in that room for a night or two. The en-suite was fine except there were some broken bits so we were careful while handling it. The lady at the breakfast was very pleasant. The neighborhood was not the best but we didn't feel unsafe or anything. All in all, I can stay in that hotel again for the amount of money I paid.