Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Nice hotel in town centre

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Staff were very pleasant and helpful. I loved the Nespresso in the room.
Cons: The shower would fill up quite quickly and while it never over flowed I could not take a nice long shower.
Location: Romsey is a quaint town with many local shops and businesses. The White Horse is conveniently in the centre of the town with easy access by foot.
I was staying at the White Horse for a wedding taking place in the same venue. The hotel had a bar/restaurant on site and a few rooms to sit with fellow guests. The rooms were clean and had all the amenities to feel at home. Location cannot be beat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herts

not a lot for a lot of money

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: nothing in particular
Cons: just disappointed for what we paid!
Location: town center, plenty of cheaper places to eat & drink
small, hot and only suitable for a one night stay, drinks were very expensive, no on site parking, no lift and being an old building the floors & stairs were a bit uneven!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in historical and interesting area

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel with character. Very friendly & helpful staff even though they had 2 large events on that evening
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Enfield

Star Find in Romsey

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was very well presented, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the chefs were brilliant. would recommend the White Horse to anyone going to Romsey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, village,staff, a confused breakfast

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Nice hotel and room in a lovely village. The staff were also generally friendly. But the breakfast is a bit confused. For some reason they couldn't seem to make scrambled eggs on toast it - it took three attempts and still wasn't right. I think it was something to do with the toast being part of the buffet and eggs a la cart. But overall a nice stay and am happy to recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Good hotel central

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Clean and tidy
Cons: The price of the hotel is a little high for the service provided, the restaurant was disapointing the food was not up to the rest of the hotel.
Good clean hotel newly refurbished although the room was a little small. the restaurant was the big disappointment the food was not in keeping with this hotel. we ordered 3 meals only one was agreeable and that was for a child. Sad really this place could be quite good. I would concider staying at this hotel again but will not waste any more money in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
by JENNY from London

Great but it could have been ever better

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is excellent . Just few pointers: wifi is very weak and keep breaking . I would have appreciated an early check it however the nice lady at reception did not allow us or did Beyond her duty to assist . It was only one hour earlier . Breakfast told it as included but then they charged for it. Still very pleasant stay and happy with the wonderful historic building :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syerston in Notts

fine hotel centre of town.

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Staff, room, general ambience
Cons: Perhaps a mini bar, and more affordable meals.
Location: Town centre, I went there for the fishing nets which was freat
Lovely room.very comfortable the bed excellent. I thought the cost of food a little high for me.
5 out of 5
by David from Southampton

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
We booked this hotel for friends from California and it was amazing you all looked after them so well. And I must say we had a meal in the restaurant and the food and service was outstanding. Will definitely be back
5 out of 5
by jane from Holmfirth

A gem of a hotel in the heart of Romsey.

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Parked outside hotel on the road where there is free street parking for 30 minutes then the car park is just a two minute walk away for overnight. The welcome on reception was good and efficient the receptionist were dressed so smart they really looked great. The hotel has great rooms and the brassiere which we dined in had a great menu and the staff were really good. The food was of a high standard. Breakfast was good at only £7.50 for continental.