Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Wrong side of town and at best 3 star hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Firmer beds would help, staff with some initiative or common sense and with a willingness to help and breakfast from 6.30 am.
Location: The hotel is in a public car park. Not a nice location at all. Their room rates are ridiculous for this kind of hotel.
Check in was handled very badly. We were going to a wedding at 3 pm. We arrived at the hotel at 12.00. The desk staff told us that our room was not ready. We asked when our room would be ready and were told "check in is at 2 pm", which was not what we asked. We let it go. We then waited and waited. We asked every half hour whether any room was ready because we wanted to shower and dress for the wedding. No, they said "check in was 2 pm". Once again pointing out what their rule was but ignoring our needs and request. After one request we were told "we have not heard any different from housekeeping". It seemed obvious to me that they should perhaps ask housekeeping but thought it rude to point this out. They made no attempt to find out and showed no initiative. Oh and in case you were wondering the desk staff were all English so they understood, presumably, our question and request and the context. Finally at 2.30 I approached and made the point that it was humanly impossible that all rooms would be cleaned at 2 pm. If the last room was cleaned by 2 pm others must be already cleaned. The lady at the desk then phoned housekeeping and was told that there were rooms ready so we got our rooms. The next morning we were told that breakfast started at 8.00 - somewhat late. So a large queue had built up by ten. Guests were shown to their table one by one and there was a crush for the food. The eggs were dessiccated. Outside the hotel was a car park which was cheaper than the hotel's.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MK

Average, but no more.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Quiet location and only 10 minutes walk to town centre
Cons: Free car park for guests Better quality breakfast. The eggs, bacon and sausages were all very poor quality.
Location: Lots of good places to eat and very attractive old centre.
I booked this hotel as a wedding anniversary treat and given the hotel website's own descriptions and the premium price I paid, I expected a certain wow factor. Whilst nothing was particularly wrong, it wasn't special either. Given the price (approx. £200/night), it was disappointing to be charged extra for the hotel car park. I assume the vast majority of guests will drive there, so this felt like a room tax - a bit greedy IMHO. The Spa area is disappointing but free. The pool is very small (no good for swimming) and rather soul-less Breakfast disappointing, Premier Inn's do a better breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay within walking distance of town.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Colour scheme. relaxed vibe.
Cons: Glasses at breakfast for juice were not clean. Cobwebs in sliding doors leading to patio.
Location: Within walking distance of shops and restaurants.
Very enjoyable stay, relaxed atmosphere. The check-in was easy, the room was clean and comfortable. The bar was lovely with a chilled atmosphere and a well stocked bar. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very pleasant with good air conditioning. The bathroom was clean, modern with lovely fluffy white towels. The breakfast was very good with a good selection of hot and cold food. The bacon in particular was very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel!

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Location, Room, bath room, staff
Great location, walking distance from train station. Very nice gym, staff very helpful. Rooms are excellent, large, bathroom is top class. Will definitely visit again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Overpriced and tired

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Proximity to town and station.
Cons: The hotel needs refurbishment.
Location: Wonderful pub around the corner 'The Hyde'.
At £165.00 our room was extremely overpriced in contrast to the interior and facilities of the hotel. The bed was large and comfortable but filled the room - the bathroom was tired, over bath shower with shower curtain - how many bodies had that wrapped round - mildew on tiles. Breakfast was disappointing - poor quality grade food delivered in a completely chaotic environment - service was provided for drinks and poached eggs which aren't advertised but apart from that its self service - with a full dining room this was not an environment to hang around.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Braintree

Perfectly positioned to access the city

Posted Jun 11, 2016
This hotel was the best place to unwind as well as perfectly placed to access Winchester on foot. Staff are welcoming and helpful even going the extra mile and swapping aspects of the dinner menu around to accommodate my mum who fanciefd something diffetrent. Our room was clean,comfortable and well appointed. We would certainly go there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel friendly staff. Good location for city

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Nice hotel friendly staff. Good parking. Close to city centre 10 minute walk. Good gym plenty of machines. Good spa facilities
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Friday night stay in Winchester.

Posted Jun 2, 2016
A great hotel. The parking charges were not clear on the website however an email to hotel reception was responded to in a timely manner. Slight disapointment that the jacuzzi was out of action and the steam room was very hot compared to other ones ive used. The room was superb very comfortable bed and the air con was a bonus even though it wasn't a hot day. Well worth a visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a great city

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Lovely staff, great room, great hotel. My only gripe was the shower would work fine then go scolding hot and freezing cold every 2 or 3 minutes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

very comfortable overnight stay.

Posted Feb 18, 2016
We had an overnight stay which was very comfortable. The room was spacious, and breakfast the following morning was very good. Location was good too, quiet, but only a couple of minutes to the centre and high street. I would recommend this hotel.