Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire

Some good some bad and some very disappointing.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Room 139, the evening meal on the second night and some of the staff and the location. Thats why I would recommend staying at this hotel.
Cons: Some of the restaurant male staff need to learn some manners. Inform guests of any referbishment that is taking place. keep fire doors open.
On arrival the receptionist was very polite and stored our luggage as we where to early to book into our room. When we booked in we where allocated room 129, and it was awful, outside the window are the extractor and main air con fans. The noise was so loud we had very little sleep. To make things worse the wing is under referbishment and the drilling started at 7am! We complained the next morning and where moved to room 139 which was lovely and quiet and comfortable. We ate at the hotel both nights, I have food intolerances so we informed the restaurant 3 days before we arrived and they said it wouldn't be a problem. So why was it? The chap who was in charge said he was unaware but would talk to the chef. I had the serf and turf with sirloin steak which was more fat than meat with 3 of the smallest prawns and for an expensive surcharge to have both it was a rip off. Breakfast was a banana as I was unable to eat anything else that was on offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place to stay

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Friendly reception staff & excellent breakfast
Just stayed 1 night. Reception staff very welcoming and friendly. Hotel decor very nice throughout and room was very comfortable and clean. Staff very helpful when I realised i had left items of clothing behind and had them ready to collect when i came back. Cannot fault the service all round.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Lovely spa, staff could have been more pleased to serve/professional
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Good Hotel for access to Winchester

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The Staff and the room was extremely comfortable.
Cons: Bar food was delayed but they were busy, so just keep an eye that orders go in correctly.
Location: we were attending a family event so did not get to see surrounding area but hotel situated close to Winchester with Cathedral and many other places of
We were attending family event near to hotel. The room was excellent , bed extremely comfortable. Reception staff very helpful. We arrived on a busy weekend with wedding going on. Staff were very cheerful and efficient even though they were busy. Plenty of staff on reception for busy checkout. The only disappointment was our order for bar food got delayed but what was refreshing was we received three apologies , nice to see someone being responsible for mistakes ,appreciate human error can occur and in the service industry nice to see someone admit when things have gone astray. Food delicious when it arrived. Would stay here again and intend to rebook for short stay in the future. The layout of the hotel a little unusual and if you have trouble walking best to check which room you have as the lift arrangement unusual but feel sure you would be accommodated in a room not too far away from facilities. Spa was clean and again all staff very helpful and answered all questions in a friendly and welcoming manner. Lovely stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Overnight stay before wedding

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Staff very helpful and polite. Rooms clean. Nice room overlooking pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel friendly staff

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Check in was fast, nice lady at reception! The bar and reception look good and were clean! Corridors to rooms are a bit tricky and signage could do with being a little clearer. Room was clean and bed comfortable, complimentary water and tea coffee facilities. Not to noisy even though there was a wedding there that night. Breakfast was ok, but when I arrived every table was dirty and the managers didn't pick up one plate. Some poor waitress was left to clear the whole room whilst the multiple managers gave her jobs to do. I thought it was quite funny as they walked passed the table empty handed at least ten times. The breakfast items are buffet style and not cooked to order. This unfortunately made the area quite messy from repeated use. Check out again was fast and friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unpersönliches Hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Für den Besuch des Schwimmbads ist zuvor ein Fragebogen mit rund 40 Gesundheitsfragen (in Englisch) zu beantworten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

A very pleasant stay

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Cons: The shower curtain
A very friendly, clean and comfortable hotel. Just one minor niggle - the shower curtain kept fighting with me in the shower - a shower screen would have been better!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Praktisches Stadthotel

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Location: Direkt am Bahnhof, kurzer Weg zur Kathedrale
Der Parkplatz ist relativ klein für das große Hotel und nicht gerade kostengünstig. die Zimmer sind in Ordnung und das Restaurant ist empfehlenswert.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sandra from Devon

Sleepless night, but excellent service

Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
We were on a business trip related to the Charity I run, so needed somewhere to stay for the night. The photos on Hotels.com look good, but on arrival I was disappointed with the Hotel's appearance. It is a working Hotel; I say that because there was a blood transfusion service operating in one of the conference rooms and the majority of guests appeared to be businessmen in transit. I didn't try the spa as I didn't have time. Also, there is a public car park right in front of the Hotel, and a St. John's Ambulance station opposite. The cost of parking is £7.50 from 2.00 p.m. to 8.00 a.m. the next morning and unfortunately for us, the alarm at the station was activated and had been so since the previous Sunday despite strenuous attempts by the Hotel's Manager to alert the key-holder. Thus, we had a sleepless night, but the following morning, I spoke to the Manager on duty and he dealt with my complaint to my satisfaction. Regarding the car park; the Hotel do have a car park but if only staying for one night, it is more expensive than the public car park, and less expensive if staying longer. Overall, a good business Hotel and I can recommend the Loch Fyne restaurant which is located in the centre and within easy walking distance.