Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MK

Average, but no more.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Quiet location and only 10 minutes walk to town centre
Cons: Free car park for guests Better quality breakfast. The eggs, bacon and sausages were all very poor quality.
Location: Lots of good places to eat and very attractive old centre.
I booked this hotel as a wedding anniversary treat and given the hotel website's own descriptions and the premium price I paid, I expected a certain wow factor. Whilst nothing was particularly wrong, it wasn't special either. Given the price (approx. £200/night), it was disappointing to be charged extra for the hotel car park. I assume the vast majority of guests will drive there, so this felt like a room tax - a bit greedy IMHO. The Spa area is disappointing but free. The pool is very small (no good for swimming) and rather soul-less Breakfast disappointing, Premier Inn's do a better breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay within walking distance of town.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Colour scheme. relaxed vibe.
Cons: Glasses at breakfast for juice were not clean. Cobwebs in sliding doors leading to patio.
Location: Within walking distance of shops and restaurants.
Very enjoyable stay, relaxed atmosphere. The check-in was easy, the room was clean and comfortable. The bar was lovely with a chilled atmosphere and a well stocked bar. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very pleasant with good air conditioning. The bathroom was clean, modern with lovely fluffy white towels. The breakfast was very good with a good selection of hot and cold food. The bacon in particular was very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel!

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Location, Room, bath room, staff
Great location, walking distance from train station. Very nice gym, staff very helpful. Rooms are excellent, large, bathroom is top class. Will definitely visit again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Overpriced and tired

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Proximity to town and station.
Cons: The hotel needs refurbishment.
Location: Wonderful pub around the corner 'The Hyde'.
At £165.00 our room was extremely overpriced in contrast to the interior and facilities of the hotel. The bed was large and comfortable but filled the room - the bathroom was tired, over bath shower with shower curtain - how many bodies had that wrapped round - mildew on tiles. Breakfast was disappointing - poor quality grade food delivered in a completely chaotic environment - service was provided for drinks and poached eggs which aren't advertised but apart from that its self service - with a full dining room this was not an environment to hang around.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Braintree

Perfectly positioned to access the city

Posted Jun 11, 2016
This hotel was the best place to unwind as well as perfectly placed to access Winchester on foot. Staff are welcoming and helpful even going the extra mile and swapping aspects of the dinner menu around to accommodate my mum who fanciefd something diffetrent. Our room was clean,comfortable and well appointed. We would certainly go there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel friendly staff. Good location for city

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Nice hotel friendly staff. Good parking. Close to city centre 10 minute walk. Good gym plenty of machines. Good spa facilities
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Friday night stay in Winchester.

Posted Jun 2, 2016
A great hotel. The parking charges were not clear on the website however an email to hotel reception was responded to in a timely manner. Slight disapointment that the jacuzzi was out of action and the steam room was very hot compared to other ones ive used. The room was superb very comfortable bed and the air con was a bonus even though it wasn't a hot day. Well worth a visit.
5 out of 5
by Martin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel and staff were very polite would definitely go back to the hotel..