Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A very good and comfortable hotel very welcoming

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Would definitely stay again, hotel was good value for money, good parking facilities and only a short walk into the City Centre
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Posted Oct 20, 2016
At the start I was not shown to my room until after their stipulated time. The room was icy cold ? October), this after travelling overnight! Staff were not over enthusiastic to promptly, politely attend to their customer; one was not important enough.... They were slow and and possibly not trained. The 'pool' was not really a swimming pool, it was more of a splash pool.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very good hotel close to Winchester centre

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Short walk to Winchester centre with good restaurants, working mill, Cathedral & Great Hall. Easy drive to castles, country houses, Portsmouth etc
We stayed at the Winchester Hotel and Spa for 4 nights in mid October. The room was really nice with comfortable bed and good wifi (free), television and shower. The only slight criticism of the room was the air conditioning unit which blew directly onto the bed, and it was needed because the bathroom had a heated shower rail and heated mirror, which tended to make the room hot and dry. The hotel provided complimentary water every day though! The heated mirror was because the steam from the bathroom sometimes sets off the hotel alarm so you have to keep the door closed - very thoughtful! The breakfast buffet was really good, including full English, fresh fruit, cereals and pastries. The hotel staff were all really nice and helpful - if the odd thing needed doing they always did it in a friendly and efficient manner. It was a surprise to have to pay for parking, and unique in my experience, but it only cost £11 over the 4 nights. The only other slight criticism is that they blow hot air on you as you enter the hotel, and the bar area was so hot and dry one night that we couldn't sit there as it was making our eyes dry. The hotel is really handy for Winchester town centre, and even the furthest visitor attraction is only 10-15 minutes walk away. Winchester is lovely with good restaurants, a lovely working mill, the Cathedral and Great Hall. Easy drive to beautiful countryside, castles, country houses, Portsmouth, Southampton etc. We would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly helpful staff, clean room and facilities

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Cons: Parking a little expensive
Location: About a 10 minute walk from the city centre, not easy for anyone a bit unsteady on their feet.
Really relaxing stay, and helpful staff. Rooms are clean (although its a trek to get to the third floor!!) and the breakfast was really tasty. If you are staying on a Sunday use the Car Park at the front of the hotel (its a public car park and is free up to 8am on Monday morning).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Wrong side of town and at best 3 star hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Firmer beds would help, staff with some initiative or common sense and with a willingness to help and breakfast from 6.30 am.
Location: The hotel is in a public car park. Not a nice location at all. Their room rates are ridiculous for this kind of hotel.
Check in was handled very badly. We were going to a wedding at 3 pm. We arrived at the hotel at 12.00. The desk staff told us that our room was not ready. We asked when our room would be ready and were told "check in is at 2 pm", which was not what we asked. We let it go. We then waited and waited. We asked every half hour whether any room was ready because we wanted to shower and dress for the wedding. No, they said "check in was 2 pm". Once again pointing out what their rule was but ignoring our needs and request. After one request we were told "we have not heard any different from housekeeping". It seemed obvious to me that they should perhaps ask housekeeping but thought it rude to point this out. They made no attempt to find out and showed no initiative. Oh and in case you were wondering the desk staff were all English so they understood, presumably, our question and request and the context. Finally at 2.30 I approached and made the point that it was humanly impossible that all rooms would be cleaned at 2 pm. If the last room was cleaned by 2 pm others must be already cleaned. The lady at the desk then phoned housekeeping and was told that there were rooms ready so we got our rooms. The next morning we were told that breakfast started at 8.00 - somewhat late. So a large queue had built up by ten. Guests were shown to their table one by one and there was a crush for the food. The eggs were dessiccated. Outside the hotel was a car park which was cheaper than the hotel's.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MK

Average, but no more.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Quiet location and only 10 minutes walk to town centre
Cons: Free car park for guests Better quality breakfast. The eggs, bacon and sausages were all very poor quality.
Location: Lots of good places to eat and very attractive old centre.
I booked this hotel as a wedding anniversary treat and given the hotel website's own descriptions and the premium price I paid, I expected a certain wow factor. Whilst nothing was particularly wrong, it wasn't special either. Given the price (approx. £200/night), it was disappointing to be charged extra for the hotel car park. I assume the vast majority of guests will drive there, so this felt like a room tax - a bit greedy IMHO. The Spa area is disappointing but free. The pool is very small (no good for swimming) and rather soul-less Breakfast disappointing, Premier Inn's do a better breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay within walking distance of town.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Colour scheme. relaxed vibe.
Cons: Glasses at breakfast for juice were not clean. Cobwebs in sliding doors leading to patio.
Location: Within walking distance of shops and restaurants.
Very enjoyable stay, relaxed atmosphere. The check-in was easy, the room was clean and comfortable. The bar was lovely with a chilled atmosphere and a well stocked bar. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very pleasant with good air conditioning. The bathroom was clean, modern with lovely fluffy white towels. The breakfast was very good with a good selection of hot and cold food. The bacon in particular was very good.
3 out of 5
by ivan


Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
A very nice break the hotel was comfortable. Resteraunt however not very good breakfast was ok although we had to as for dishes ad to refill juices etc. Dinner was not good so didn't go again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
We had an extremely disappointing stay. The room was basic, worn, very noisy plus air conditioning didn't work. Windows had to be opened only to hear parties going on within the hotel. For the price paid I would expect a much higher standard. I think the hotel relies on its location to justify its price- pay 4/5 star prices to receive 2/3 star standards.
4 out of 5
by Arnstein from Norway

Business trip to UK

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Very good location for the train station and adventures in the city. Friendly staff and good breakfast. should open formerly a 7:00 AM The rooms are clean and nice. Can advise this hotel.