Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by ana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It wasn't ok ... I didn't stay again

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Let's be clear, this is a room above a pub ... period. The room was comfortable but do not expect hotel levels of service. My only complaint was that the room was cold (as was the pub downstairs) and didn't feel like the most secure room in the world.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Shabby chic without the chic!!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
This was advertised as boutique accommodation but there was nothing stylish about it. The room was small and dark; some light bulbs weren't working. When the toilet was flushed it made a terrible rattling and banging noise for about 10 minutes afterwards!! There was no rug on the lino floor so it was a bit chilly. On the plus side, they provided a kettle & tea/coffee. The bed was a small queensize but it was comfortable & clean. Maybe my expectations were too high for a room costing 100 GBP on a Saturday night in Hampstead!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short stay at Kings Boutique Hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Great location. Relatively low price by London standards.
Cons: Very small room.
Location: Less that 1 block from the train station. In the heart of the wonderful Hampstead neighborhood with loads of pubs, restaurants, shopping, etc.
It was certainly an experience. Our tiny room in a very old building was above a "proper British pub." We were dropped off in the middle of the pub (with all of our bags) in the midst of a busy Saturday night crowd, led up a steep and narrow stairway, shown how to get in/out after hours and given our keys. Two small twin iron beds in the room, an armoire and 2 small bedside tables in the room, which was clean and neat. The bathroom was modern and clean, though small. The shower could be difficult for a larger or older person to climb in and out of. The few times that we saw any staff, they were friendly and accommodating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

rooms above a conventional British pub.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Clean bed , location .. Otherwise not a lot
Location: Hampstead Main Street is always busy .
Not a hotel, rooms above a pub, clean room - crazy narrow badly lit stairs . No reception , high street buzz was fun . Staff in the pub were helpful. The images on the site are deceptive . Ok for one night .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Not a hotel, just a dirty room above a pub

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Firstly, you can't find the place. There is no such thing as King's Boutique Hotel. It's the King William pub wirt no sign to suggest otherwise. You have to speak to the solitary bar man to check in, even on a Saturday afternoon, presumably a busy time in a pub. The fire detector chirped all night, despite being reported to the same bar man, as well as the unfixed sink which leaked on to the towels (so we couldn't even shower). There were numerous ants to be found in the grimy room with peeling paint and wallpaper. The bathroom was so small I couldn't use the toilet properly and the next morning, we had to hand our keys in to the pub cleaners as there was no-one to speak to. We had to book another, real, hotel for the remainder of our stay. For £100 I expect far, far higher quality. This was £20 a night at it's best. The noise meant we didn't sleep and the condition of the room meant we weren't relaxed on holiday. The only way to contact the manager was by getting her mobile number off the cleaners and, despite talking to her two days ago, I am still waiting to hear back from her regarding a well deserved, full refund.
5 out of 5
by Breeze

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampstead

could be better

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
it was OK
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room, noisy environment.

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: The room was nicely appointed and clean.
Cons: Nothing whilst there is a busy and popular pub below.
I would only recommend this room (called 'Catherine') to someone if they intended to be out and about until after pub closing time. I had not anticipated the volume of noise coming up from the pub below or the street outside. This room also opposite the staff loo, so there were constant comings and goings with concomitant door slammings throughout the evening until half an hour after closing, which was midnight on Friday and 0050 on Saturday. The plumbing made a loud howling noise when the occupant of the room next door flushed their loo or had a shower. The room itself was very nicely appointed and comfortable, so no complaints there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here.

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
We did not even stay. The hotel is above a seedy bar. There was no one to great us or check us in. We started up the stairs to see if the reception was up there and the stairwell was old, smelled, and was dirty. We just left.