Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

quiet hotel in main street

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: quiet, central location
Cons: seems nothing
Location: in main street center. easy to purchase supply, watch shows and go to beach
it is easy to find in main street, close to everything. Friendly host. Pleasant stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

To be positive, it's a good location

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
As someone else already said, the location was very convenient. Praise unfortunately ends there. Biggest issues were: being told by the owner he didn't know what the wifi password was and it was slow anyway (he did guess at password but it was wrong); breakfast was a piece of cheese, a piece of processed meat, a bun/bread and instant "juice" (and us making previous arrangements to start tours before the 9am sharp breakfast time we only found out about after asking 3 times at check in was that we should tell the tour operator to change their start time); not being told anything at all about any of the events happening as part of the major annual cultural event in town (fortunately I already knew a bit about it and our tour guides were very helpful); despite prior arrangements, the airport transfer didn't happen and we cabbed it ourself to the property; the room smelled very, very musty and the bathroom was literally falling apart; and despite every other booking I've made through hotels.com, full payment was required in cash and not just a deposit as warned at time of booking. We weren't expecting luxury at all, but were disappointed none the less. There are other options in town and we would try any of them if we go back to Easter Island.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Location is amazing but a bit overpriced what you get ! Hotel advertise they take credit card but the credit card machine is always broken! So cash only just heads up
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Pleasant Stay At Orongo Hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Location, helpful staff, English friendly and multi-lingual capable staff. They helped us in so many ways and made our stay special.
Cons: Free WiFi did not reach to the individual rooms but was available in the common area. You really do not come to Easter Island for the WiFi.
Location: Restaurants, shops, and Pea Beach are close by. Rano Kau Crater and Orongo Village in Rapa Nui National park can be easily reached for a day hike.
A very pleasant stay at the Hotel Orongo. The staff was excellent and strived to make us feel like a part of the family. A morning breakfast was included, and the staff helped us in so many ways to quickly become accustomed to the town and local culture. They easily answered all questions that we had and arranged a great full day tour for us. The location in the town of Hanga Roa was perfect and the garden area within the property was very pleasant. Everything that we needed was close by and convenient.
4 out of 5
by Kamalesh from Michigan

Great location Good value Great owner

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
This is more of b&b Nice folks who manage the place
3 out of 5
by Benjamin from Manchester NH

Feel at home on Easter Island.

Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Hotels
When considering this review you must understand that this is a small island in the South Pacific. There is no good internet anywhere on the island that we found. Even the locals complain about getting internet. But that is not why you go to Easter Island anyway. The island was beautiful and the people were very nice. We felt like family staying with relatives at the hotel. They were very acomodating and with lots of suggests and advice. I would stay there again if I returned. One thing of note is when booking they ask you to pay the hotel directly before you leave not through the website. We missed this detail and left without paying. We sent payment when we returned to the states but they were very understanding and I don't think we were the first for this to happen to.
3 out of 5
by Terrance from Dubai

Good location but not much else

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
Great location but wifi unavailable and services limited. Hard to find anyone to speak to about any requirements. When you find someone they were very pleasant though.
4 out of 5
by John from New York

Sweet and humble

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
It's by no means fancy, but the surrounding gardens were a real plus. Could pick fresh mangoes and guava at my leisure. Tropical flowers abound. Great family owns/runs it. Made me feel very welcome and connected to the island and people. Very fond memory of my stay.
5 out of 5
by Alfred from woodside

Personal Touch

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful host and staff. Very helpful. We visited the week of the Festival, so there were events and entertainment all week. Each day upon returning we were greeted with a cold drink!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Hotel closed to everything

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: I booked in expedia without breakfast but the owner still give me breakfast everyday
Nice hotel with air conditioning in the middle of the main street. Everything walking distance.