Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Across the street from Westlake

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The room is very good. A great contrast from the rest of the hotel
Cons: Needs upgrading and make over externally and at the roof. Food selection for buffet, both breakfast and dinner, needs to be revamp.
Location: Location is the selling point of this hotel. Within walking distance to Westlake and a food street (heard from counterparts but no time to visit)
Great location. Just cross the street and you will be at the famous Westlake. Externally, the hotel does not look like much, but the room is great. Nice bathroom and modern amenities. There is even a TV at the bathtub. Great for those who likes to have a dip. The rooftop garden has quite a good view. It will be even better if it is higher by another 2-3 levels. The condition of the garden is average. The buffet is nothing to shout about. Selection can be beef up.
4 out of 5
by Grace

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

great stay and good vacation

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
great and their hospitality service are great and really helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Wonderful hotel at the heart of West Lake

Posted Jun 5, 2017
I would return to this hotel in a heart beat. The room was very comfortable and we really enjoyed the amazing breakfast. The hotel staff was helpful and so knowledgeable about places to visit in Hangzhou.
5 out of 5
by AnnaLena

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice!

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel's condition is not new, but the quality of service is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank for providing us a feedback. I am glad to know that you feel our service is great, I will share with our team, and keep the strength. Anna Shi Guest Experience Manager Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
5 out of 5
by Kathy

Spectacular Hotel in a perfect location!

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
My husband and I were flying in to visit our son and had no idea what area of Hangzhou would be the best to stay in as we had never been to China before. We feel so fortunate to have gotten a room at the Sofitel! Not only was the room (and bathroom) spacious and immaculate, but the amenities were perfect! The location could not have been better. We were steps from the lake (under the street passageway made this easy), steps from the subway/metro, and steps from a Costa and Starbucks coffee. My favorite was the bar at the top of the hotel with it's spectacular view. We took the most amazing pictures while watching the sun set. We also ate once at the breakfast buffet and twice at the Chinese restaurant in the hotel when we were just too tired to venture back out. Both get my highest recommendation! The personnel were always patient, helpful and professional. (Our flight was delayed causing us to miss our first night's stay. The hotel kindly shifted our stay one night over at the end...wow!) I would come back here in a heartbeat! Thank you everyone at Sofitel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is great!

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Location is great. The hotel is just next to West Lake.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Definitely not 5star. Felt like a holiday inn at best. Breakfast was cheap and you get what you pay for. Stay away from the Bircher mueslis. Most complicated check in ever with deposits and staff that was not ready to answer questions. Wifi was very spotty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017
Dear guest, We appreciate your sharing your feedback with us. Breakfast and check in experience did not meet your expectation, please accept our sincerest apologies, our Director of F&B has taken action for the mueslis offer and FOM reviewed the check in procedure to make sure this will not happen again in future. thank you again to tell us and it is our hope to serve you better in nearly future. Anna Shi Guest Experience Manager Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Wifi/Internet was very slow. Breakfast buffet was not up to par of similar hotels in Shenzhen. It lacked several items. Check-out clerk obviously did not know what he was doing. It took over 20 minutes for me to check out after a 2 day stay. Room was large and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you to write us a feedback. Breakfast and check out experience did not meet you expectation, please accept our sincerest apologies, please rest assure that we will address the problem and re-emphasize service standards. Thank you again for sharing your concern. it is our hope to serve you better in nearly future. Anna Shi Guest Experience Manager Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake