Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charges

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: The bell boys are very helpful, so are the room attendants. Those at the reception/front desk are not as good as those people mentioned.
We have booked for two person to stay in the hotel, but the promotion only comes with 1 person breakfast. So to say, it's either you pay for the additional person breakfast charge or you pay for the next person breakfast or both of your don't take your breakfast. As our flight back was late night, for our own comfort for shower an change, we decided to pay of the additional half day stay in the hotel. The hotel half day ends at 6pm, we request to check-out at 7pm, they obliged to our request. Unfortunately, when we back to the hotel after our last day trip, the room key was de-activated and we have to go down to the reception to have it activated again. These did delay us in conforming the check-out time and we only manage to check-out before 715pm(evening), the hotel manager demand us to pay for the whole day hotel charges and claim that we had exceeded the half day stay by 15 minutes. Only after our explanation that the key was de-activated and we have to get it activate and also our persistency, then the hotel manager tell us that he will try his best to waive off the whole day charge. Our point of view is on the 15 minutes delay, is the hotel that stringent that they do not give any allowance time?
4 out of 5
by Tommy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Close to station, and quiet

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Visiting family and friends . Convenient and quiet. Easy access to taxi and buses
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Nice Chinese hotel in down town.short taxi ride

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Hotel is not International but Chinese. It is very nice with great location on metro and shortvtaxi ride to the lake. Rooms are small but pretty and cozy. Best of all is that restaurant on the top floor has great international food and great view. Wifi works great. Service is nice. Real nice experience for foreigner in Chinese hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Posted Apr 15, 2016
In your website (expedia.com.hk), there is a misleading information about the hotel amenities. The photo gallery had given me an incorrect understanding that there would be an indoor swimming pool in the hotel. However it did not exist -- making us victims of misleading advertising. When being queried about the swimming pool issue, some of the hotel staff greeted us with no-smiling and even unfriendly attitude. Besides there was never any smiling or morning greeting from the hotel staff at all during our 4-night stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location and Overall Great Choice

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Orbitz
Really loved everything about this hotel, the location was perfect, the breakfast had plentiful choices, and the service was very responsive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Goethe Hotel in Hangzhou

Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels
I had a pleasant stay at the hotel. Would consider staying there again next time. Although it is centrally located, we did have a hard time getting a taxi from the hotel.........
2 out of 5
by Zee from NY

Nice Hotel in Hangzhou - not 5 stars yet

Posted Sep 22, 2013
Pros: Nice lobby, good location for train riders.
Cons: Staff's English skills Internet Send the staff to the Shanghai Hilton to learn what a breakfast and restaurant service should be
Location: Not much in a 2-3 block radius, crazy traffic, one Burger King sign and some department stores under construction
Expensive looking hotel next to the train station. While I stayed there the hotel looked deserted. Lobby, bar empty. The staff spoke some level of English but not overly eager to engage the arriving guest. Silly me, I did not check if the building was smoke free or at least the floor. There was no smell of cigarette smoking in the room the floor was saturated with smoke smell. Ashtrays next to the elevator doors! The room is nice. The cable TV offered one (1) English language channel. For a moment of thought this was 1993! It was the "official Chinese" English TV language channel. It is pretty hard on those us waking up at 2AM. The Internet service is okay, but the band width is not enough for a Skype video call. The buffet dinner was okay. I cannot say the same for the breakfast. The restaurant does not open till 7AM. The food is not exactly "Western" as perhaps the name "Goethe" and 5 stars would imply. Bread or pastry were not available, the coffee tasted "instant". The staff had trouble with basic English. The infra red food warmer also decided to quit this Friday morning and at least 3 electricians were trying to find the source of the trouble.
4 out of 5
by Summer W. from New York, NY

Hotel Goethe - good stay for business

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels
The Hotel Goethe is quite nice, the rooms are very comfortable with nice decor and the Wifi actually works unlike most other hotels in China, where Wifi means you have to plug the computer in. The gym is decent and the breakfast bar is good with a pretty view over the city. It's super close to the train station which is convenient for business travel. However, the neighborhood is not great for any sightseeing or restaurants so you'll have to hop in a cab and head to the lake for that.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2012 on Hotels
Horrible hotel