Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2011 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malaga, Spain

Great location by west lake. Staff excellent.

Posted Jun 15, 2011 on Hotels
Nice attention from hotel staff, they helped us several times. Location is perfect to visit west lake and surroundings. Room was clean though not excellent. Much recommendable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Louwai's in Hongzhou

Posted Apr 27, 2011 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location at the top of the west Lake area. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. Our room was comfortable and clean. My one complaint would be that there didn't seem to be any restaurants within a few blocks so we ended up eating at the hotel. The food there was just okay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suzhou, China

Drip, drip, drip

Posted Feb 17, 2011
The beginning of the stay was quite normal, with expectations of a cozy relaxing time. However, around 11:30 PM, without any kind of prior physical doing anything on our part there began a steady "drip, drip, drip" from the ceiling above the entry way to the room. We were laying in bed and heard this sound and were alarmed when it did not stop. This was to be a romantic get-away, and it turned into a troublesome experience. We did not want to move or even consider changing rooms at this late time. So, we lay listening to this sound throughout the night. When morning came we reported the drip and a crew of four people came into our room with us half dressed and began to "fix" it. They were there for 20-30 minutes......left and then the dripping began again. We did not check out until 12:00 because of our previous arrangments for travel and had this dripping continue to the very end. Upon check out we asked for a discount and they said they couldn't because of this being booked through Expedia. They gave us a wall hanging as a consolation, but this was definitely not a winning experience. :(((((
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marlboro, New Jersey

Hangzhou Lakeview Hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2010 on Hotels
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for its location, price, services and comfort. I've stayed at this hotel several times and found it extremely convenient, friendly and a great value. The only issue on my last stay was a charge for internet access which they credited out after I complained that I've never paid in the past.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice, clean, walking distance to everything important

Posted Oct 20, 2010
Nice hotel - nice view of the lake from the restaurant where we had breakfast. Did not have a view of the lake from our room, though, as we had a cheaper room. We had to add a 3rd person for one night, and it was no problem -- they simply added a bed to our room, then took it away again the next day. I was also impressed by their laundry service! A bit pricey, but my clothes came back as if they were new, even pressed and folded with a cardboard backing and plastic packaging. Walking distance from the lake and a string of bars just across the street; shopping down the street as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Champaign, IL

Location is hard to beat

Posted Apr 21, 2010
This hotel is situated brilliantly at the edge of the lake. I think the rooms could use some updating though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2009 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tara from Shanghai, China

Good Value Hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2009
The Lake View Hotel offers good value for money. It is in a good location (on the West Lake waterfront), has nice big and clean rooms. It is also resonably priced. The downside for us was that our room smelled of smoke but we were prepared for this based on a previous review so not a huge issue
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Near the lake but room is not that good

Posted Nov 4, 2009
I booked for a king size bed but the hotel told me that there is no king size bed room. The window in my room on the 3rd floor is the interior of the hotel lobby ... i.e. it does not face outside!