Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location on West Lake within tourist area.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Location: Location is key with this hotel as its situated immediately opposite, within 100m of the impressive nightly music/fountain show.
Typical Hyatt hotel with stylish and modern public areas. The bedrooms are clean and well maintained although now ready for some modernisation. Staff are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Longer a Five-Star Hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is no longer a location of choice for me. I have stayed here three times but will not do so again. It still charges 5-star rates (193 RMB for breakfast) but is by no means a 5-star hotel. Compared to other hotels I have stayed at in China this one is certainly second-rate. Most troublesome was the poor quality wireless. While other Chinese hotels seem to have significantly improved the wireless available for guests in the last year, this one remains very poor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The kind of service you feel at home!

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
A picture says a thousand words, pls refer to the attached pix and see how we were impressed by the house keeping services. it's a small act of gracious but can't compare this with many hotels in the world, which we'd visited, this one touches heart. Will definitely come back soon;-)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury on West Lake

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great high-end hotel right on the West Lake. Terrific shopping district.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

5-star location, 3-star hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Besides location, I like nothing about this hotel. I can't associate this hotel with "Hyatt Regency" at all.
Location: Sightseeing, shopping and restaurants
The cleanliness of the room is disappointing. I wonder if they vacuum the room. The room is so dated overall.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a gem on the lake

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
It's beyond expectation. Despite being older and smaller, the service and maintenance of the hotel is up to international standard. Location is unique, spot on the lake and surrounded by central shopping areas.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business traveller, this hotel cannot be beat!

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
I love this hotel!! Somehow ever time I stay, it ends up being a holiday of sorts, and it's crazy busy. (like-you've never seen an area so busy) The first time I stayed, we were unable to get a taxi to the train station because of how many people were there, so the concierge walked with us 3 blocks to the train station, bought our tickets, gave us a subway map, walked us through how to reach the station, got us THRU SECURITY, and then let us go. Who does this??!! Their service is impeccable. There was a mixup with my room reservation (In China you MUST choose smoking/non) and they immediately upgraded me without question. PS. The buffet is to DIE FOR. The local area is perfect, every time the concierge matches me with a driver (taxi, 80RMB/hr) to play tour guide driving me around to each destination I've noted. I'll never stay anywhere else when in Hangzhou. I always book thru Hotels.com, and don't even have a Hyatt #, but yet they still treat me so wonderful. The location can't be beat, shopping, food, culture, the lake, morning walks, it's my favorite place!! Don't hesitate!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The best!

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
It's always the best to stay at this hotel. A great location! Lake front view! Shopping! .......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, USA

Great location, outdated facility

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: The swimming pool; Location, location, location to west lake main shopping area of city
Cons: outdated furniture, misleading room/bed capacity
Location: West Lake, and walking distance to many shopping malls
Picked this hotel primarily for it's location and Hyatt brand. When we checked in the room was a little bit musty so we need change room. Some stains on the back of a chair not cleaned up. The interior of the room looked nicely maintained but outdated. Bed size as "Twin size" was really like "Twin size" in US, very small size. Hotel locates right next to West Lake we walked to ferry terminal within 5 minutes. The night music show is just outside the hotel front. Staff were very nice and helpful, with some of them been very fluent on English, but just a few, not most them. We requested wheel chair and first aid supplies for unexpected injury. The hotel had them and very accommodating. We felt well served. The hotel was preparing for G20 Summit so there were lot of construction noise and one Army with riot gear stand right in front of the lobby. Summing pool is in the big circle out front and it's the kids' favorite part of hotel.