Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Hotel is way too expansive. Hotel and rooms in poor condition, outdated, it needs a full Reno. Room smelt smoke so we asked to change and we realized that The other room was also smelling cigarette since we suspected the hotel rooms were smoking free... Carpet and bathroom in poor condition. Restaurant very expansive compare to other same range restaurant in the area. Staff very friendly though. To conclude, this hotel might have been a nice place 20 years ago bit should seriously be refreshed in order to charge the price they charge for the room. Location: very nice, right on the lake
3 out of 5
by Ken from USA

Great location, decent hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel advertised 3.5 stars and that seems reasonable. The location is on the lake shore with lovely grounds and views, but about a half mile from the action. My room was less attractive but served its purpose. Staff was friendly and helpful, despite limited English. The hotel was once very nice but needs a remodel, e.g., wood paneling is peeling and general condition is on the decline.
4 out of 5
by Philip from London

Great location bit dated interior

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay. The staff are friendly, even if none have a decent grasp of English. The best thing is the location, right by the beautiful west lake. Also breakfast was tasty. You should note that this is a chinese hotel not really catered for foreign guests, expect to be the only non chinese guest there. As a result the food is all chinese style and it's hard to get any information in English. This wasn't a problem for me. The hotel also doesn't in some ways meet western standards, in some ways it's nice but in others the place is showing it's age, especially the bathroom. However it was clean and I had a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by Farhana R from South Africa

Very hard beds9

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is a great location if u looking for a really quiet relaxed vacation. For activity however you would need to stay on the opposite side- near the Hyatt Hotel. If you are NOT chinese , I would advise you to stay elsewhere as there is no food options if you don't enjoy chinese cuisine. And the hotel is too far a walk if you looking for a meal after a really tiring day out. Language is also quite problematic altho staff do try very hard to understand and accommodate you. Steven at reception really made tremendous effort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Corinne from Lublin WI

Beautiful hotel located right on West Lake

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Location, meals, and room.
Location: West Lake right outside the hotel. 10-15 minute walk to bus station. Grand mall, temples,
Beautiful accommodations. Very good price for breakfast buffet with lots of food options. Located on a back street, so very quiet. West Lake is right out the door. Staff able to speak pretty good English.
4 out of 5
by family from USA

West Lake Hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels
Great location if you want to see West Lake. No room faces the lake but the hotel has a nice little garden overlooking the lake. The pedestrian path around the lake is right outside the hotel gate. Quiet and safe at night. Great service. Hotel itself is ok. You are paying Hilton prices for a Days Inn type of hotel because of its location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Darren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Steve from Shandong

perfect location, otherwise nothing special

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is in need of serious renovation. It was probably issued a 4 star rating twenty years ago. Old furniture, mattresses like rocks, and small rooms. However, the location is absolutely unbeatable. Right on the shore of West Lake and a 3 minute walk from Nanshan street, which is crawling with restaurants and shopping. I would recommend staying there for those reasons alone, especially for a first time visitor to Hangzhou.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LV from Miami FL USA

Ok hotel close by the lake

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Pros: Close to the lake
Cons: Dated rooms, some english at reception and lower price.
Location: Perfect location by the lake
I expected more form this hotel but it's chinese standard with western price. I wanted a place very close to the lake because I was travelling with my mother that does not walk much so I thought that this perfect location would be nice. The place is fine but there's some details like breakfast and dated rooms that could be improved and everybody smokes everywhere. It's overpriced for what it is, for a few more dollars try the well known western hotels. You will not be far away from this one regarding the room price.