Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Grand and gracious

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Just a stone throw away from renown west lake's walking dam. Hotel located in a quiet and secluded northern shore of Weet Lake.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good feeling on this hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2017
I order a Rome for 3/20-3/22, and when I check in on 3/21, hotel told me, they don't have any room for me, I wait half hour for room, and they gave me a final answer is we have extra room, but u have to pay that for 1600RMB! They told we already cancel ur room, but nobody give me a message or phone call! That's make me feeling so uncomfortable!
5 out of 5
by Weiping

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service and location near West lake

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Swimming pool, bike rental and secluded location
Cons: Include more Chinese food in the menu
Super comfortable and with all activities available for active experience (bike rental, swimming pool)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Karl Karlsson General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience at the Shangri-La Hotel Hangzhou with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our swimming pool and bike rental. Should you travels bring you back to Hangzhou, I hope to have the chance to welcome you again. Yours truly, Karl Karlsson General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel in excellent location by lake

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: You have to take it as it is - which is quite charming.
Location: See above - boating on the Lake, walks on the causeways, eating nearby, hiking back of hotel.
The location of this hotel is terrific, and is its main asset - right by the northwest corner of West Lake. It's rather grand-looking, and has indeed had many distinguished visitors (no doubt in a fancier part than the wing we were in). Our room was fine, somewhat less well-appointed than a more modern establishment. But the old-world style had its charm. In addition to immediate access to the Lake, there is an interesting hike up the hill behind the hotel, to a cave and various other points of interest. Its also near the Louwailou restaurant, on a mini-island connected to the mainland - founded in 1838 and Hangzhou's most famous restaurant (beggar's chicken, dongpo pork, sweet and sour carp).
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by joy, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking your time in sharing your kind feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you have taken the opportunity to stay in our hotel and had a very memorable experience. We will certainly share this review with all colleagues concerned and look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel Hangzhou soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Excellent West lake hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2016
The hotel has west and east building about half a mile apart. Expedia should have specified which building. Also, either Expedia made a mistake by writing my last name as first name. It took hotel staff some time to find my reservation because Chinese could not get access to Expedia's US site. The hotel is located at the prime location closed to all major scenic spots. Some are within walking distance. However, the facility is a little outdated and the king size bed is combined by two twin bed and their is a gap in the middle of the bed. It bothers if you happen to sleep in the middle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by joy, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking your time to provide us your feedback. We have taken note of your comments seriously and we will look into the matter immediately, so as to further ensure the high quality. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us, should you have any further comments concerning your stay experience. Your sincerely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Nice hotel close to West Lake. Room lacks good view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by joy, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking your time to provide us your feedback.Warmly welcome you can try our lake view room to enjoy the beautiful Westlake!
4 out of 5
by Frank Y W

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Kin Mun from Hong Kong

Not up to its name

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
The location is very good, just adjacent to the scenic parts of the West Lake. The decoration and furnitures of the room is very very old and also smelly. Absolutely not worth US 200 a night. Will never stay this hotel again before its rooms get re-rennovated.