Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Across the street from Westlake

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The room is very good. A great contrast from the rest of the hotel
Cons: Needs upgrading and make over externally and at the roof. Food selection for buffet, both breakfast and dinner, needs to be revamp.
Location: Location is the selling point of this hotel. Within walking distance to Westlake and a food street (heard from counterparts but no time to visit)
Great location. Just cross the street and you will be at the famous Westlake. Externally, the hotel does not look like much, but the room is great. Nice bathroom and modern amenities. There is even a TV at the bathtub. Great for those who likes to have a dip. The rooftop garden has quite a good view. It will be even better if it is higher by another 2-3 levels. The condition of the garden is average. The buffet is nothing to shout about. Selection can be beef up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Wonderful hotel at the heart of West Lake

Posted Jun 5, 2017
I would return to this hotel in a heart beat. The room was very comfortable and we really enjoyed the amazing breakfast. The hotel staff was helpful and so knowledgeable about places to visit in Hangzhou.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is great!

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Location is great. The hotel is just next to West Lake.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Definitely not 5star. Felt like a holiday inn at best. Breakfast was cheap and you get what you pay for. Stay away from the Bircher mueslis. Most complicated check in ever with deposits and staff that was not ready to answer questions. Wifi was very spotty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017
Dear guest, We appreciate your sharing your feedback with us. Breakfast and check in experience did not meet your expectation, please accept our sincerest apologies, our Director of F&B has taken action for the mueslis offer and FOM reviewed the check in procedure to make sure this will not happen again in future. thank you again to tell us and it is our hope to serve you better in nearly future. Anna Shi Guest Experience Manager Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Wifi/Internet was very slow. Breakfast buffet was not up to par of similar hotels in Shenzhen. It lacked several items. Check-out clerk obviously did not know what he was doing. It took over 20 minutes for me to check out after a 2 day stay. Room was large and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you to write us a feedback. Breakfast and check out experience did not meet you expectation, please accept our sincerest apologies, please rest assure that we will address the problem and re-emphasize service standards. Thank you again for sharing your concern. it is our hope to serve you better in nearly future. Anna Shi Guest Experience Manager Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
5 out of 5
by Emil

an excellent stay

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a prime location, it is only a couple of minutes away from West Lake and a major shopping centre. The hotel has good facilities, its breakfast has a wide range of choices. Staff are friendly and professional. Our son was pleasantly surprised by a handwritten welcome note and a plate of macaroons he received.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is located right next to West lake. The room is clean and comfortable, a lot of accessories in the bathroom. During winter, you cannot realy adjust the temperature of the room. I was expecting to go to the rooftop bar for the great view, unfortunately it was close because of winter. A bit disappointing. The breakfast buffet had a great selection of food and worth the try. The staffs were helpful in several occassions which made my stay enjoytable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Outstanding

Posted Nov 25, 2016
The best food, staff , room and service. A world class buffet for breakfast and dinner. Imacculate clean rooms with every thing you could possibly need, with friendly staff willing to go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. I could not reccomend it more
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No refund As the booking was through Expedia

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: Good
Good property. Had to shorten the stay by 2 nights. Property did not accept the cancellation as the booking was made through Expedia. Did tell us that they would have accommodated us if the booking was made directly through their website.