Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Outstanding

Posted Nov 25, 2016
The best food, staff , room and service. A world class buffet for breakfast and dinner. Imacculate clean rooms with every thing you could possibly need, with friendly staff willing to go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. I could not reccomend it more
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No refund As the booking was through Expedia

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: Good
Good property. Had to shorten the stay by 2 nights. Property did not accept the cancellation as the booking was made through Expedia. Did tell us that they would have accommodated us if the booking was made directly through their website.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice hotel by the lake

Posted Sep 18, 2016
For tourist want to visit the lake , this hotel is across the street from West Lake. The trafic is bad, if you are in Hangzhou for business , getting out of the area in the morninhs and afternoon will take time and there is certain car restrictions in place. The hotel rooms don't have any view of the lake. Rooms in the front have the tree line and street view. (Can be noisy at times) The rooms in the back face an apartment building and very quiet .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Not a luxury hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2016
I stayed at two other Sofitels elsewhere and this one is absolutely not up to my expectations. Check in was very slow and I had to wait for the room to be ready. There is no gym. Facility is outdated. Very close to West Lake, but there is no view of the lake from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Anna Shi, Hotel Management
Dear Expedia member, Thank you for telling us your experience at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, check in experience was not up to your expectation, please accept our sincerest apologies, please rest assure that we are addressing the problems and will prevent future occurrence, it is our hope that we can serve you better in near future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel right opposite Westlake

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: free happy hour, location, staff
Cons: Could use a pool, better room aircon, better quality breakfasts
Location: Westlake - huge, lovely lake/park area. Must see if you're in HZ.
Sofitel directly opposite Westlake. Good view from the top deck. Evening meal was good; breakfasts were poor. A wide range of breakfast choices but mostly the 'hot' food was cold. I mean, it was OK, but not Sofitel standard. Rooms were great but aircon a little ineffective; couldn't get it below 23 degrees Celsius even after 3 continuous days. One big downside was no pool. One massive upside - they have a happy hour (5pm - 7:30pm) with FREE drinks. All of them. Beer, wine, spirits, etc etc. Totally free. I've never experienced that before in an international 5 star. Compared to our normal hotel bill they virtually paid us for staying there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Anna Shi, Hotel Management
Dear Expedia member, Thanks for writing us a review and tell us about your experience. I am glad to hear that you are satisfied with the benefits for the price you paid, we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as previous one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hôtel for business trip

Posted Jul 8, 2016
All was good,really good experience. We had a good service and the rooms were nice and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: West Lake and all related attractions.
Solid,accomodating, staff. Very clean hotel. The stay was enjoyable, quiet, and convenient to area amenities. I had a business meeting at the Hyatt - an easy 15 minute walk along West Lake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Colin ng from kuala lumpur

excellent hotel near shopping n Lake

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Almost everything except aircond
Cons: Unfortunately hotel was under renovation n aircond didnt work for entire week,
Location: Yi Chino, Grandma's, West Lake park, Silk Road n Zhejiang University
Excellent staff n freindly. Unfortunately aircond didnt work but staff make us extremely comfortable. Experience n knowledgeable staff
2 out of 5
by I.D from Sydney

Staff excellent - Poor facility

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Room very hot in the afternoon - centralized air conditioner - should have individual room cool temperature control.
Complained about the heat inside the room, and was advised by the staff just to open the window to let the cool air in. As a consolation, I was given an OLD electric fan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tippytoes from New Zealand

Very comforting

Posted Jul 12, 2012
Location: Heineken 500 ml cans ¥10.90 each 100 mtrs from entrance to your right and just on side street
Very comforting experience, excellent services.will definitely return