Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Outstanding

Posted Nov 25, 2016
The best food, staff , room and service. A world class buffet for breakfast and dinner. Imacculate clean rooms with every thing you could possibly need, with friendly staff willing to go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. I could not reccomend it more
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No refund As the booking was through Expedia

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: Good
Good property. Had to shorten the stay by 2 nights. Property did not accept the cancellation as the booking was made through Expedia. Did tell us that they would have accommodated us if the booking was made directly through their website.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Overpriced for the poor service
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Expedia members, Thank you for telling us about your experience at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. we regret for the service experience was not up to your expectation, your feedback is very important for us, we would like to have more details regarding the issue so that we can address the problem and feedback you with proper solution, please do not hesitate to contact us back. thanks again for your concern. Anna Shi Guest Experience Manager Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice hotel by the lake

Posted Sep 18, 2016
For tourist want to visit the lake , this hotel is across the street from West Lake. The trafic is bad, if you are in Hangzhou for business , getting out of the area in the morninhs and afternoon will take time and there is certain car restrictions in place. The hotel rooms don't have any view of the lake. Rooms in the front have the tree line and street view. (Can be noisy at times) The rooms in the back face an apartment building and very quiet .
5 out of 5
by Mynor

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great environment in and outside the hotel. The West Lake is an beautiful place to jog and enjoy nature
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Not a luxury hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2016
I stayed at two other Sofitels elsewhere and this one is absolutely not up to my expectations. Check in was very slow and I had to wait for the room to be ready. There is no gym. Facility is outdated. Very close to West Lake, but there is no view of the lake from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Anna Shi, Hotel Management
Dear Expedia member, Thank you for telling us your experience at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, check in experience was not up to your expectation, please accept our sincerest apologies, please rest assure that we are addressing the problems and will prevent future occurrence, it is our hope that we can serve you better in near future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel right opposite Westlake

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: free happy hour, location, staff
Cons: Could use a pool, better room aircon, better quality breakfasts
Location: Westlake - huge, lovely lake/park area. Must see if you're in HZ.
Sofitel directly opposite Westlake. Good view from the top deck. Evening meal was good; breakfasts were poor. A wide range of breakfast choices but mostly the 'hot' food was cold. I mean, it was OK, but not Sofitel standard. Rooms were great but aircon a little ineffective; couldn't get it below 23 degrees Celsius even after 3 continuous days. One big downside was no pool. One massive upside - they have a happy hour (5pm - 7:30pm) with FREE drinks. All of them. Beer, wine, spirits, etc etc. Totally free. I've never experienced that before in an international 5 star. Compared to our normal hotel bill they virtually paid us for staying there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Anna Shi, Hotel Management
Dear Expedia member, Thanks for writing us a review and tell us about your experience. I am glad to hear that you are satisfied with the benefits for the price you paid, we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as previous one.
4 out of 5
by Thomas from California

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Wi-fi spotty; otherwise all good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hôtel for business trip

Posted Jul 8, 2016
All was good,really good experience. We had a good service and the rooms were nice and clean.