Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2018
Attentive staff, always polite and delightful to deal with, very accomodating. Beautiful views, lovely amenities, room did smell a bit stale when first walked in, but once air con was on and widows opened it soon disappeared. Private spa was perfect, easy to use. Room was extremely spacious, gave a very grand feeling. Lovely and quiet a very nice relaxing getaway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2018 by Jonathan, Hotel Management
Hi Anonymous, Thanks for taking the time to pass on your feedback. I'm glad your stay with us was so good :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marlow, England

Stunning View From Restaurant if allowed to use it

Posted Feb 23, 2018
We only stayed here one night & originally booked to eat in the restaurant so when informed only 2 days from our stay they had booked out entire restaurant & we could not eat there that evening needless to say it was very disappointing. The hotel did everything to find us alternatives for food & offered us a meal in our room or the conference room too. We did accept a room with a hot tub which our original booking did not offer, although room 9 which is a disabled access room. We didn't realise that the view from this room was also limited so beware if you accept this room. The hot tub was also a let down as only 2 jets working. On arrival at hotel we asked if we could have a drink in the bar to discover the bar was also out of bounds all day as was the restaurant. So we ordered a cheese plate which we ate in our room to also be charged room service on the top!! This seems a liberty especially if restaurant was off limits! The following morning finally we got to see the beautiful view from the restaurant at breakfast. It truly is stunning. The hotel already has some maintenance issues which need attention. I would point out that this hotel is quite a considerable way out of Hanmer Springs (7kms) so if you do not use restaurant it is definitely not walking distance to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, NZ

Excellent property

Posted Feb 21, 2018
Excellent room. Totally quiet and private. Helpful and pleasant staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auckland, NZ

Confirm your booking in advance!

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Cons: More towels to mop up the bathroom when the whole room floods after a shower
Location: We didn’t want to leave the hotel and would have stayed if we had the room we booked. Instead we spent our tourist dollars in Hanmer.
We called the day before to confirm our booking and no one mentioned any issues bearing in mind we were coming from Auckland and then driving for a few hours to get there. Upon arrival we were told the spa pool outside was broken and we asked if the room could be changed as we weren’t getting what we had booked. The receptionist was very polite and firm and said no. We had two options, except a free entry to the pools in Hanmer and we explained we had been half dozen times before and didn’t want to leave the hotel or accept a free breakfast which we said we were going to buy anyway. At that point I probably should have screamed and shouted and demanded to see the Manager but we didn’t. We were told we had a beautiful spa bath in the bathroom and that would suffice. A romantic night in the bathroom wasn’t quite what I had in mind and I could have stayed home for that. We checked into the room then to find we were in a disabled room and when you had a shower the whole bathroom flooded, not great when you want a shower upon arrival. The beautiful spa bath in the bedroom has a view of the disabled shower seat or looking up a big dent in ceiling. We can only assume someone came in with crutches and slipped over on flooded floor and their crutches hit the ceiling. Going outside all we could hear were others enjoying their private spas. Thanks for ruining our romantic getaway which had cost us a lot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Staff were all so friendly. We really enjoyed our room. The spa had a beautiful view & the spa bath inside was amazingly spacious & comfortable. We will definitely be back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by Mary l Restaurant and Bar Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Anonymous, Thank you very much for spending your time in giving us a 5- star review. We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward for your next visit. Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nelson

Choose carefully

Posted Dec 30, 2017 on Wotif
I have stayed at Braemar Lodge and Spa several times before but sadly my recent visit will be my last. To quickly highlight a few issues from my latest stay at Braemar: No one to greet us at check in and kept waiting more than 10 minutes before a staff member greeted us. Unacceptable. The room we had been assigned wasn’t what we had booked (it was a disabled unit with different facility’s, I feel some facilities I had paid for were not Available in our unit as it catered for different requirements, I wouldn’t have had an issue with this had we been informed at booking or at least check-in instead we were left to find out ourselves. Disappointing. The bathroom wasn’t clean, we found blood under the toilet seat, the mirror hadn’t been wiped down, there were several dead flies by the door to the balcony, stains on the drapes, I hope the room hadn’t been cleaned as if it had the standards of housekeeping do not match the resorts status. The staff were helpful I will add and housekeeping did clean our toilet after being informed (they certainly didn’t rush but they did arrive) The restaurant food was not up to par at all, both our mains were overdone not just the meat but the veggies aswell (because your out of the way you are at the resorts mercy to some degree and if you are someone that enjoys good food I would highly recommend avoiding dining at the resort. Lots of issues the resort and staff need to address to offer the standard of stay they advertise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AUS

Nice hotel with facilities to be improved

Posted Dec 17, 2017 on Wotif
The hotel is very nice but would benefit of a little uplift in terms of appliances being supplied (e.g. TV, music station, kettle, etc.). Also the breakfast buffet is a bit poor
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by Mary l Restaurant and Bar Manager , Hotel Management
Hi Olivier, Thank you for your honest feedback. Rest assured that I will pass this to our Executive chef and will take necessary action for improvement. We started to upgrade our amenities and would love to see you again here. Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing room we didn't want to leave!

Posted Dec 4, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing room and great spa treatments. Service was a little lack and inattentive on checkout and in the restaurant during our visit. Otherwise an amazing place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017
Dear Anonymous, Thank you very much for your five star review. We apologize for the lack of attentiveness of our reception and restaurant team. We will endeavour to improve our standards the best we can. We hope to see you again in the near future. Warm Regards, Mary l Restaurant and Bar Manager
4 out of 5
by Craig

Relaxing weekend

Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
Very relaxing. Lovely location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2017
Dear Craig, Thank you for your review and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again. Regards, Mary l Restaurant and Bar Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Canterbury

5 Star service with beaut views

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Comfort, menu, wine cellar selection, the tranquil location.
Cons: It was looking tired, but is currently being rejuvenated which was pleasing.
Location: 10 minute drive to Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools and village. The rural outlook and tranquil location is just beautiful.
We needed a luxury short break not far from home and this was perfect! Very comfortable bed, dinner a breakfast were great. Fabulous wine cellar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2017 by Mary l Restaurant and Bar Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kait, Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. We are thrilled that you received 5- star service during your stay with us. You are right about our beds! They are indeed very comfy. Please come and visit us again in the near future as all our refurbishments will be completed soon. Regards,