Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WGTN, NZ

Beautiful lodge. Great getaway location.

Posted May 8, 2017
Great place. Staff friendly. If you want to get away to a secluded place for privacy with 5 star accommodation and service this is the place. 10min drive to Hanmer Springs town. Tucked in the hill amongst trees for privacy and a 5min drive from the main road. Certainly will go again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, NZ

Isolated peace and tranquility with a side of meh

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: The gas fire was a nice touch, and having access to a balcony was pleasant. Bathroom was nicely appointed.
Cons: The room lacked the little touches to make you feel really welcome. Kind of like a hug that is not quite all enveloping into smooshy goodness.
Location: The location is great if you want to get away from it all, a bit isolated if you don't, Hanmer 10 minutes up the road, but not much to do nearby.
While the room and location was pleasant it lacked the little niceties that really make you feel welcome. A large room that felt a little spartan with its furnishings, but the bathroom was lovely. Great location to relax and unwind, very tranquil location. Balcony would benefit from bug zappers to prevent moths coming into the rooms, and the carpets are a little tired and in need of some TLC.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Wotif
We were really disappointed with the condition of the hotel especially after reading the other reviews before we booked. The carpets were stained and threadbare and all the walls were marked and grubby. The bathroom was missing half the shower curtain and so got soaked when the shower was on. The restaurant looked very empty with no atmosphere. Apparently they are starting an upgrade in May so we wonder if they had started to clear out the furniture. The staff were lovely but not sure we would choose to stay again even after the work has been completed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from christchurch

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Wotif
Was a great place to relax and unwind, very peaceful and quiet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Wotif
Was awesome. If I could make any suggestion s it would be to have a bigger sign at the bottom on the hill. As we found it hard to see. And for the porta for to have a mattress in it lucky we brought our own. Apart from that it was fab.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Oasis with peaceful surroundings and stunning view

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location, views, amenities
Cons: Restaurant service could be improved - rather slow and non-observant
Location: Brilliant! Close to town but far enough away to feel like a real escape
Great place to get away and just relax. We felt we didn't need to go anywhere to achieve the relaxed feel we were after - a break from too much thinking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location and privacy
Cons: Refurbishment
Location: Hanmer is great place to stay. Lots to do especially the hot pools in the nearby township.
The restaurant was closed for cleaning and we were not told until we arrived. The foyer, room and hall carpets were covered in fluff and bits brought in/blown in from outside so all carpet could do with a good vacuum. The place is starting to become run down and in need of a refurbishment. We stayed at the lodge 4 years ago and it was top notch then but sadly has gone down hill since then.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Quiet and relaxing location

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Wotif
Friendly staff, tidy rooms, lovely food and nice outlook. Would be good if they updated their spa treatment brochure as some of the in room spa services are not available but are still listed in the brochure
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Relax

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
Very spacious and comfortable stay - double spa was great. A fair way out from town but new this. Lovely views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Modern hotel, very private and quiet.

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The location, the staff, the facilities.
Cons: The carpet downstairs possibly in need of an upgrade.
Location: Close to Hanmer Springs, the mountains and outdoor activities.
The staff were lovely, exceptionally helpful and friendly. The hotel was modern, clean and lovely. Beautiful views of the mountains. The suite was private and quiet, perfect for a get away for two.