Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Beautiful

Posted Sep 2, 2017
The hotel has an amazing location, the staff were so helpful and the rooms were clean and beautifully decorated and modern.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Rae, Hotel Management
Yes we are in a great location and are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch NZ

Helpful staff .

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Close to all activities.
Cons: Nothing all perfect.
Location: Hot pools. Great restaurants.
Very clean and very efficient cleaning staff.Easy checkin and out. Will definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Rae, Hotel Management
We look forward to seeing you another time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Excellent hotel around the corner from the town centre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Rae, Hotel Management
Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Excellent

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Modern rooms and the location. The lady on reception was very helpful, I think she was standing in as the owners were away and she was really nice.
Location: Location is great just park the car up and walk to the shops and pools, St James will give you pool towels in a handy tote bag if you need them.
Loved our stay at the St James and would and have already recommended to people. Very modern rooms, we had a deluxe studio on the first floor which had a balcony we could sit out on and enjoy the surrounds. Bathroom and kitchen tiled floors were heated which was so nice to step onto , a real treat. Kitchenette are fully stocked and self catering can easily be done, loved having a water purifier tap in the room which I have not come across at other places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Just as comfortable as home

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: everything
from arrival to departure truly a great friendly experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from from chch

Very average,

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Wotif
No views,poor wifi,overpriced for wot you get, far better at The chalets
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Awesome rooms, everything you need and more! Comfortable and great location
3 out of 5
by Maree

Not quite good enough.

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Lighting at night is very poor in bathroom and bedroom for putting on makeup. The long mirror is attached to inside of wardrobe door but not configured for best use. The TV is wall mounted but very small by today's standards. The end attachment on blow dryer kept falling off and at 7am on the Monday morning the water in shower was only warm when turned to hottest setting
5 out of 5
by Catherine E Gamble

Fabulous!

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was very pleasant and we enjoyed the St. James Hotel very much. The managers were friendly, efficient and helpful. The restaurants are very close to the hotel and there's some nice shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Lovely view from the top floor, comfortable room

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Wotif
Such a great place to relaxe and unwind.. we'd had such a busy time so to go somewhere within easy walking distance to a great burger (PJ's) had a fab selection of DVD's at St James was great!! Lovely room and beautiful bed