Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

hanoi

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Pros: staff , resteraunt
Cons: new carpet as it smelt mouldy
Location: looked at a few shops had no time
good time good people just expedia did not give us enough information so our experience/honeymoon was dampened
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Solid choice in Old Quarter.

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Wifi Staff
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Right in the heart of the Old Quarter on a quiet street. 2 minutes to lake.
On arrival, they upgraded me to a nice big room with balcony because they were busy, but then told me I would have to move to a different room the following day. This has happened to me before in Vietnam and it's a bit of a pain! Especially as I'd already made plans to go out early that day. I had a bit of a moan, and they said it was okay to keep the room. It looks like the hotel has had a budget makeover in recent times. Lick of paint and a few bits of new furniture. I wouldn't call it a boutique hotel (overworked phrase anyway) and it was certainly a bit rough around the edges, but the room was comfortable enough. Breakfast is taken upstairs in the cafe next door. It was fine, but the staff (some of whom were from the hotel) never seemed on top of things. I often found myself going in search of something - butter, a knife, coffee, someone to clear the space I wanted to sit at....On one occasion I was wandering around with a loaf trying to find a member of staff to cut it. When I did find someone, he used the scissors out if the stationery tray! I think maybe they need an extra member of staff to help at breakfast time! Wifi excellent. The staff were great throughout my stay. Bit pushy towards getting me on a tour somewhere, but this wasn't a problem. They work very hard and are always smiling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, USA

Great accommodation convenient to all

Posted Apr 7, 2015
I had a great room complete with everything - wifi, fridge, TV, safe etc.- on the 8th floor, with a small view of the lake. There was a lively balcony where I could sit and enjoy the breeze in the evening. The room and bathroom were spacious and well maintained. The hotel staff extremely helpful and competent. I had laundry done and a tour organized in no time. Great value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Real pleasant hotel, good location

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Of cos, the staff and then the balcony.
Cons: Did not like so much the construction going on opposite. Changing the room to the double glass one helped a bit but at an increased price!
Location: Really walking distance to everywhere...and with the cool year end weather it is v pleasant to walk.
Really all the staff (Sophie, Annie, Tay and the lovely housekeeping team - of cos not forgetting the staff at the breakfast place) are v v nice people. They are such a joy to meet and will go out of their way to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel in the heart of Hanoi

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: The kindfull of the staff, the situation in the center of Hanoi, and the cleanliness of the room.
Location: It is just in the center of Hanoi, next to the main street market and the lake.
Our stay in Artisan Boutique was pleasant. The situation in Hanoi is the best, just next to the lake. The room was clean. The staff is kind and help you with anything you need. Actually, we booked a trip to Halong Bay with them (with a good price) and everything was ok. The breakfast is buffet type and the quality is quite well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancy from Toronto

Near everything

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Best part are the staff. They were fantastic. Always helpful and with a smile.
Cons: Needs updating of walls (paint job) and more lighting. With a reno job it could possibly get a better star rating.
Location: Great location, near mostly everything.
Great staff of people in this hotel, although the place itself is a little run down. Not enough lighting in the bathroom. Breakfast next door was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from Philippines

GOOD LOCATION, WONDERFUL STAFF

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: The ladies and gentleman behind the desk are wonderful. The location is excellent and its a pretty and cozy little hotel.
Cons: Get their bookings straight... and maybe, don't overcook the eggs.
Location: This hotel's location is it is in a quieter area of the Old Quarter. The streets here are quiet at night... and it's close to nearly everything.
For the price we paid, Artisan Boutique was an excellent choice. Our only real complaint was that they kept putting us in other hotels. Tho we knew that there was a sister hotel nearby, we specifically chose Artisan Boutique. But when we arrived at 2 in the morning, tired from the flight, they put us in a Artisan Lakeview in cheaper rooms that the ones we booked and paid for. This was extremely disappointing, and we did inform them that we would arrive very early in the morning. They moved us back to Boutique the next day, but the repacking and moving was a hassle. Then we got back from a trip to Hue, the same thing happened. We were moved to a hotel a few streets down. Admittedly, the rooms we got this time were bigger and it was a newer hotel, but again, we had to go through the hassle of repacking and moving back to Artisan Boutique the next day. The hotel staff moved our suitcases for us though. But other than that, it's a lovely, cozy little hotel in a nicely quiet part of the Old Quarter, so close to all sorts of restaurants and shops and the pretty Hoan Kiem Lake. The rooms are nicely comfortable and well-appointed. The staff was especially wonderful, extremely pleasant and so very helpful. Sophia especially was a joy to have around. My hats off to Duc, who good-naturedly took the tirade I gave him at 2 am when we first got in and were given the wrong rooms. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kris from Highton VIC, Australia

Small hotel in a great position

Posted Jun 6, 2013
Pros: Position
Cons: Lift was broken and our room was on 4th floor
Location: In a small street in old quarter very central to restaurants shopping and lake.
This small hotel is in a great position close to the lake and shopping and the water puppets. The street is active but not noisy. Breakfast is served in the restaurant a few doors down with room service if requested. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small but nice hotel to stay

Posted May 14, 2013
nearby by the lake and shopping center, quite and nice place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian & Sue from UK

Great little boutique hotel.

Posted May 8, 2013
Pros: Laptop in your room
Very friendly local staff who were enthusiastic and welcoming. Excellent location in a quiet street right next to the Old Quarter. All the amenities you might need, including a laptop with wifi connection in your room. The inclusive breakfast was taken in the Artisan Cafe next door and included the famous Pho Bo (noodles and beef) on the menu.