Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
The buildings Central a/c was not working, however rooms were equiped with portable a/c that did the job
4 out of 5
by Ryan from Oxford

Great hotel, good service, great location

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great place, got a free upgrade from the sister hotel, they let us check in early and it was great to wind down and get ready for a long flight the next day after relaxing by the rooftop pool. The views weren't anything special but without adding another 10 storeys there's not much they can do about that!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Disappointing

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Location
After more than 4 months notice it was still not possible for them to ensure we had 2 rooms adjacent to each other even though it was a specific request - Kids in a twin room next door to us in a double. Due to a delay in flights we arrived about 4hrs late and the bloke manning the reception desk was indifferent. I explained to him the reason for our request but he insisted he was not authorised to change our room/s. He told me I'd have to speak to the manager in the morning and change the following night. At which time I explained we were only staying one night....... The shower/bath in one of the rooms was unusable unless you were happy to build an ark and use it to exit the bathroom after you finished showering - like many things in asia it looked the goods but was not well thought through. The water from the showerhead sprayed into the gap between the wall and rim of the bathtub which then drained onto the floor, effectively flooding the bathroom, literally.
4 out of 5
by Linda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
Small room with no window. Poor lighting
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Happy in Hanoi

Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was clean, well serviced and easy walking distance to most sights. Would definitely stay here again. A note to mention is that if it is important to have complete quietness take an inside room ( no windows) .. great room as well with no street noise.
3 out of 5
by Alisha from New York

Perfectly Fine

Posted Dec 24, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely nothing special. Bed was quite hard but not impossible to sleep on; bathroom was not definitely not nice but not deplorable either. Small stains on the comforter and bathtub, but it was otherwise clean. No more than 5 minutes of hot water at a time. The highlight was the staff, who were lovely and helpful (but where in Vietnam are the staff not lovely and helpful? I have not found that place). The balcony was actually quite nice, but our city facing room was incredibly noisy. Breakfast was, again, not awful but definitely not good either. Spent both nights thinking about how I probably should have found someplace just a bit nicer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for the price

Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
Pros: Great service, good breakfast with both western and Asian cuisine, located in the middle of the old quarter so it's easy to walk to many tourist attractions as well as bars and restaurants Cons: It can be loud at night and our room was tiny
5 out of 5
by Lydia from England

Great hotel for little money!

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Great little hotel! Couldn't believe what we got for the price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ulaanbaatar, mongolia

Nice place to stay in the old quarter!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Location is good. The breakfast is wonderful and the staff go out of their way to help you.
Cons: It is the city so at times it can be noisy. Get a room in the back of the hotel.
Location: Water puppet theaters are right there. Restaurants galore. Shopping by the bag full!
Be careful, there are two Golden Lotus hotels. They are only about I think 5 doors apart. I didn't know which one I had booked. The two hotels are basically connected. One is older than the other. The rooms are very nice and quite comfortable. The location is in the heart of the old Quarter so walking around is super easy. The staff is awesome! Whatever you need they are there to help you.