Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SJ

A hotel you will remember

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Good service, very friendly staff, near shopping streets and tourist attractions. Breakfast prepared by the staff, clean and healthy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Great hotel in the old quarter.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Location and staff!!
Location: The old quarter has everything. Food and nightlife.
Just back from Vietnam. We mainly stayed in Hanoi at this hotel. We loved the staff and the location was great. Walk out your front door and you are in the hustle bustle of the old quarter in Hanoi. But you go back to our hotel and you can have peace. Our flight was not till later and so we wondered if we could stay on for a bit. They said no problem. I cant even remember if they actually charged us for it. If they did it was not a lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice budget hotel near old quarter

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Comfortable bed, good shower, aircon worked well. Staff extremely helpful. Sarah on reception was fantastic. Never known anyone go so far out-of their way to make my trip perfect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good staffs in the hotel upgraded the level ...

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The staff of the hotel
Cons: The corridor and the other area is not aircon ..
Location: It is a located within the old quater ... many things you can do there ...
Would like to give special thanks to Tiep , Sarah and Amber for their superb service during my stay there ..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Lovely Hotel close to Ho Kiem lake

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Great staff and location.
Location: Well located. Easy to walk to Ho Kiem Lake, the water puppet show, the old quarter, opera house, history and revolutionary museum.
I initially stayed here in April 2016. Amber and the rest of the staff were amazing. They arranged my visa letter, trip to Halong Bay and Sapa as well as my transfer to the airport ; making it a very memorable visit. Based on the great service I returned in September. The hotel itself is very well located. The room was clean with excellent wifi. The staff were again very friendly and helpful. After spending 4 nights here I moved to a hostel. Amber had my luggage delivered to the new location. I thought that was taking customer service to an entirely new level. Thank you Amber and team for your kindness and making my staying at Golden Orchid very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in city-centre

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The staff at the Golden Orchid hotel were really friendly and the room was really nice as well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service, close to the old quarters

Posted Sep 2, 2016
This hotel is perfect for shorts stays and for backpackers. Breakfast is nice and served promptly. The staff are friendly and very helpful! The hotel is also local to the popular districts worth visiting!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Terrible Odor From Bathroom

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Good location in old quarter. Other than the problems stated, the hotel staff was very helpful.
The room we booked and paid for was not available the first night of our stay. The hotel blamed this on Expedia. Also, the bathroom had a terrible odor of sewage. Management blamed this on rainy weather and was unable to correct the problem. Do not stay on the 2nd floor. We heard many guests complaining about various problems.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not for us

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: The location is OK
Location: Near to Hoan Kiem Lake & the old quarter.
This hotel was very cheap, but not good: the stairs & landing were a disgrace, with used laundry spilling out of a large bag, the room was cramped and scruffy. The staff were very pushy, trying to sell trips as soon as we arrived. Although we'd paid up front for 3 nights, we didn't stay one: we found a better place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Fantastic all round!

Posted Aug 3, 2016
This is a fantastic hotel in a great location for the old quarter. The staff here are amazing, so helpful for organising trips, tours and transport. Everything they arranged for me was perfectly organised so I didn't have to worry about anything, (they helped to organise my trip to Sapa and then Ha Long Bay and even booking my flights to Da Nang). The hotel itself is great value for money, the rooms were a good size and very clean. Wifi is available on every floor and connection in each room was great. The breakfast included was also very good. I would definitely stay here again!